Contact Us Forum Rules Search Archive
WebProWorld Part of WebProNews.com
Page One Link To Us Edit Profile Private Messages Archives FAQ RSS Feeds  
 

Go Back   WebProWorld > Search Engines > Yahoo! Discussion Forum
Subscribe to the Newsletter FREE!


Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Chatbox Mark Forums Read

Yahoo! Discussion Forum Yahoo Search discussion. Any topic or subject specific to Yahoo should go here. You will also find a subforum dedicated to YPN & Panama.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-05-2007, 11:19 AM
WebProWorld Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Jacksonville
Posts: 84
jgarner RepRank 0
Default Some sort of spam problem. Please Please help me

If you go to Yahoo! and type "willieholmesministries" (This is a customer of mine) you will get a few results close to the bottom with decent title, description, but the URL will be something less than....family-oriented. It's really strange, these are not "bad" sites, and they redirect to directory-style pages with different domain names, but being that this is for a church, it is just a little upsetting. Can someone please tell me what's going on and how do I rectify it.
__________________
Fast. Cheap. Quality. You can have any 2, but not all 3.
My SEO blog and Freelance SEO services
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-05-2007, 12:22 PM
WebProWorld Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 36
mpilatow RepRank 0
Default

I see "www.willieholmesministries.org" as the top result but under that it is mostly a bunch of parked domains. For some reason they are targeting the term willieholmesministries as a keyword along with other terms and gibberish. I am not really sure why they would go after willieholmesministries but that is what they did.

I am not sure there is a whole lot you can do about it though. I suppose you could try to contact the site owners and ask them to stop using that term. I don't think you can legally force them to do anything though.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-05-2007, 05:34 PM
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Earth
Posts: 242
blitzen RepRank 0
Default

Unless you trademark the term.
__________________
*** Free Tibet ***
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-05-2007, 06:50 PM
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 1,787
deepsand RepRank 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blitzen
Unless you trademark the term.
Registration of a trade or service mark is no quarantee against this type of activity. For example, as a matter of stated policy:

1) Yahoo/Overture will not allow PPC listings for which the search terms are protected names; but,
2) Google will allow such.

If the listing that you are concerned about are organic ones, rather than sponsored ones, you'll need to contact the search engine and ask them to have the offenders listing removed from their indices.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-05-2007, 07:51 PM
craigmn3's Avatar
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: California
Posts: 331
craigmn3 RepRank 1
Default Black hat Linking

This looks to me like a case of BAD linking strategy
Those "bad" urls all redirect to the same google rip off.

Where have you been submitting these links to?

You did a great job in getting your client in ALL the top ten in Yahoo for the Keyword: "willieholmesministries"

I am just not sure of a way for you to put Humpty Dumpty back together again.

The "Good News" is that no one is going to search "willieholmesministries" and "willie holmes ministries" searches clean.

It reminds me of what my Mama always said, "Don't put that in your SEO strategies, you don't know where it's been"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-05-2007, 11:30 PM
WebProWorld New Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Key West, FL
Posts: 11
sysopdan RepRank 0
Default If this ministry is serious...

about what it is doing, they really need to get a trademark. Then start enforcing it.

Anyone could come along and hijack the name otherwise, to a much greater degree than anything happening now.

If they can't afford $300, then I wouldn't even bother worrying about website placement and what anyone is doing with the name. You would just be wasting your time.
__________________
Visit me at:
ragefilm.com A new documentary
ukraineinsider.com Inside Info
your-references.com - Ref. Cks.
tvkeywest.com Portable studio rent
blueoffices.com Offices on Demand
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2007, 02:18 AM
incrediblehelp's Avatar
Moderator
WebProWorld Moderator
 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Live in Cincy Now
Posts: 7,693
incrediblehelp RepRank 4incrediblehelp RepRank 4incrediblehelp RepRank 4incrediblehelp RepRank 4
Default Re: Some sort of spam problem. Please Please help me

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgarner
If you go to Yahoo! and type "willieholmesministries" (This is a customer of mine) you will get a few results close to the bottom with decent title, description, but the URL will be something less than....family-oriented. It's really strange, these are not "bad" sites, and they redirect to directory-style pages with different domain names, but being that this is for a church, it is just a little upsetting. Can someone please tell me what's going on and how do I rectify it.
Not sure why it matters, but creating some more pages targeting that keyword would help push those down, right?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2007, 10:48 AM
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 1,787
deepsand RepRank 2
Default Re: If this ministry is serious...

Quote:
Originally Posted by sysopdan
about what it is doing, they really need to get a trademark. Then start enforcing it.

<snip>
As noted above, having a registered trade or service mark doesnot grant exclusive right to use of such to the owner.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2007, 04:43 AM
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 104
nelsonez RepRank 0
Default

Quote:
The "Good News" is that no one is going to search "willieholmesministries" and "willie holmes ministries" searches clean.
I would have to agree with the previous poster. What are you worrying about ... no one is going to search "willieholmesministries". I bet if you look at your server logs you get one or two of those searches a month. Why care about that.

Eric
__________________
Eric Nelson, Ph.D. <<SlickRockWeb>> Affordable SEO, Belize resort for sale or just take a Belize vacation.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2007, 12:27 PM
WebProWorld Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 43
buster RepRank 0
Default

All the dodgy entries I looked at go to qooqlesearch.com. Bearing in mind how unhappy google are with booble, it might be worth alerting them to the black hat techniques apparently being used.

However, looking at the sources for a couple of cached entries, the term williehomesministries doesn't even appear, so I am not sure how they have done this.

It is also a possibility that this is some form of attack on your client and their religious views. It could also be worth you or your client pointing out this search and its results to google.

John

Good luck
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > Search Engines > Yahoo! Discussion Forum
Tags: , , ,



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0