WebProWorld Part of WebProNews.com
Page One Link To Us Edit Profile Private Messages Archives FAQ RSS Feeds  
 

Go Back   WebProWorld > Search Engines > Yahoo! Discussion Forum
Subscribe to the Newsletter FREE!


Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Chatbox Mark Forums Read

Yahoo! Discussion Forum Yahoo Search discussion. Any topic or subject specific to Yahoo should go here. You will also find a subforum dedicated to YPN & Panama.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-22-2004, 01:31 PM
WebProWorld Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 60
Adamwlad RepRank 0
Default Suspicious email, from Yahoo?

Hi a friend of mine received an email in their Bulk folder in their Yahoo email account.

The "From" line says: Yahoo!

The "Subject" line says: Your Yahoo! ID - myfriendsname@yahoo.com

In the body of the email, it says:


D*ae‬r Ya*oh‬o! Memb*re‬,

We mu*ts‬ che*kc‬ t*ah‬t y*ruo‬ Ya*!ooh‬ ID was registe*der‬ by rea‬l p*poe‬le. So, to h*le‬p Yaho*!o‬ pr*tneve‬ auto*am‬ted
r*tartsige‬ions, p*sael‬e c*cil‬k on th*si‬ l*kni‬ and co*etelpm‬ co*ed‬ verificat*oi‬n pro*sec‬s:

here there is a link like this: http://www.yahoo.com? then a lot of random letters

Th*na‬k you.


***************
Does anyone know if this is fake and maybe a virus or something? Has anyone else received this? Please let me know what you think so i can help my friend.

Thanks,
-Adam
__________________
Adam, President of Adam's Web Company
http://www.adamswebcompany.com
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-22-2004, 01:57 PM
Maximilian's Avatar
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 570
Maximilian RepRank 0
Default Re: Suspicious email, from Yahoo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamwlad
here there is a link like this: http://www.yahoo.com? then a lot of random letters
Greetings - Adamwlad!

If you check the source address of the "Yahoo.com link" you may find that it leads to a "spoofed" Yahoo customer service page with a URL like:

http://yahoo.some-other-site.com

I hope this helps.

Cheers!
Max
__________________
Maximilian
Maximum Beauty Products Supply Stores
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2004, 11:45 AM
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 231
ReviewGolf.com RepRank 0
Default PHISHING

Don’t you get similar email, saying that they need to verify your bank info and such? It's called PHISHING and it's a popular, this days, way of scamming. Go to any bank's site and they probably have a few examples of such emails.
__________________
Site for sale: http://reviewgolf.com

"Web design is the area saturated by amateurs that confuse software capabilities with their own talent." ~~ me
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2004, 02:06 PM
WebProWorld Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 60
Adamwlad RepRank 0
Default

Thanks for all of those that responded. I saw a discussion about this too, here's the link: http://www.webproworld.com/viewtopic.php?t=29281

-Adam
__________________
Adam, President of Adam's Web Company
http://www.adamswebcompany.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2004, 12:22 PM
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dallas, Texas USA
Posts: 1,564
bhartzer RepRank 1
Default

Official email from Yahoo! always comes from the @yahoo-inc.com email address, so if it comes from yahoo.com it's just from their free email accounts.

If it's not from @yahoo-inc.com and they're up to something funny, then I would report it to Yahoo! just like any other type of spam.
__________________
Bill Hartzer's Blog
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-30-2004, 06:46 PM
WebProWorld New Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: San Diego,California
Posts: 10
Savipe RepRank 0
Default

I have received the same "suspicious" emails,those want to verify if your Yahoo account is "active",I never open them.

Most times when Yahoo sends emails,they mark them with color and they have the "Y" at the beginning (red Y)
__________________
www.wheelsforindependence.biz
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > Search Engines > Yahoo! Discussion Forum
Tags: , ,



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0