Submit Your Article Forum Rules

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Google in India

Google in India

Do people in India see the same search results as Americans? I assume the answer is no, but can someone explain why? Also, if you want your website to attract visitors from India what would you have to do? I am just learning how the internet works so I apologize for my ignorance on the subject.

Re: Google in India

Most major search engines use what is called geotargeting. Basically they attempt to better rank sites that are deemed more relevant for the target region. They look at various factors when determining a site's relevancy to a region:
    -domain extension, ie a .co.in domain would probably get a bit of a boost
    -they might check where the domain was registered and/or hosted
    -they could check if your site has a local address for that area listed on your site
    -they could check how your backlinks reinforce that regional relevancy

Usually you just have to build up enough links related to that region. Also it may help to get links from web directories that have a regionally sorted section.

Quote Originally Posted by fdel15 View Post
    Do people in India see the same search results as Americans? I assume the answer is no, but can someone explain why? Also, if you want your website to attract visitors from India what would you have to do? I am just learning how the internet works so I apologize for my ignorance on the subject.
    There are many Google sites like, google.com, google.co.in, google.pk etc. When a user from a country open google, by default the local google SE site opens.

Results in these different google sites is different.

You can use webmaster tools to target any specific geographical location.
    Backlinks from sites belonging to that specific country will also help.
    Content related to that country will help.
    Domain extension is important.
    Your hosting location can also impact.