Submit Your Article Forum Rules

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: linking database to website

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    62

    linking database to website

    hello,

    I was wonderin if anybody know's this,

    How can I link a database to a website. The situation in the company I work for now is:
    They have a database (filemaker?) where they can upload pictures and text from. The database is link to two or three different templates in dreamweaver. These templates can be updated with new information from the database. But for example when we put in a new business to the template, lets say a pet store, and people search in google search for a pet store it won't come up. I know that is normal because it's not on the actual website, but in the database. But does anybody know HOW we can make sure people will find these single businesses.

    If anybody understands, I would be pleased to hear.

    Lowie te Riele
    www.businessforsale.com.au

  2. #2
    Senior Member sijpie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    105
    It is a bit unclear exactly how your site works from how you desribe it.

    Normally a site using a database will have:
    - Host server running MySql, SQLServer, or ODBC or something similar.
    - A equivalent database stored in a private or db folder on your file area
    - html, asp or php pages which interact with the database.

    So normally a browser requests a page, the server reads the page, carries out the instructions including the fetches from the database, constructs the page in html and sends the result to the browser.

    For you to update the database, you will have to have some admin pages on your site, that will allow you to add or modify data on the database residing on the web server. This data is then available to the site pages.

    So where do you think in this train of events you are having problems?
    Jaap

    Hidden Content
    Hidden Content
    Hidden Content

    You've done it all
    You've broken every code (Steve Harley)

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    62
    Well, the database that we use is generated from xml and miva mia (our host is yahoo).

    But how do you make these admin pages?

    Thanks in advance.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    62
    To make it a bit more clear:
    Our website (www.businessforsale.com.au) has an opportunity to search for businesses that are for sale, this search can be done on different pages.
    Let's say you are looking to buy a caravan park you can search this in business type (in our search option). Then a list (a template in dreamweaver) of caravan parks (generated from the database, miva mia and xml) comes up. On this list you can make a choise and click on one of the businesses to see pictures and more information (this is also generated from the database)on another page (also a template in dreamweaver).

    Hope this makes it more clear.
    If anybody can help, thanks a lot!

Similar Threads

  1. Linking to your other similar website
    By morestar in forum Search Engine Optimization Forum
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 03-02-2008, 11:04 AM
  2. Need a database person for website design
    By mykiesee in forum For Sale/For Hire
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-19-2006, 01:57 PM
  3. Database website. SEO possible??
    By Steven1976a in forum Search Engine Optimization Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-18-2006, 12:06 PM
  4. How do you know a website is linking back to you?
    By JuniorOnline in forum Marketing Strategies Discussion Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-09-2006, 12:16 AM
  5. How much for a database driven website?
    By EJRS.COM in forum For Sale/For Hire
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-11-2004, 11:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •