Submit Your Article Forum Rules

Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Is table-less worthless?

Question Is table-less worthless?

Morning guys! I am about to re-design / re-build my "hobby" site - Uk Hip Hop, Inertia, Hip Hop, British Hip Hop - Cash Cow Records

When i first built the site i knew very little about SEO but it did perform quite well (mainly coz it's aimed at the niche UK hip hop market).

Now.....2 years down the line i wanna re-build it to the best of my abilities. One factor that i know i should be thinking about is table-less design...but....when it comes to programming in CSS/Div i have little to no experience. My question to you is....should i persevere in learning and building the site in this format or would the labour and time spent doing this be better spent somewhere else??!
    My LinkedIn Profile -- Lancaster Builder

Twitter: @mattbennettseo

Re: Is table-less worthless?

Personally, if you're not familiar with CSS and divs then I would advise you to spend your time on the rest of the site. Tableless design gives less code bloat and makes it easier to read through the code but there's no real SEO benefit unless your pages are massively cluttered with code, making the content hard to find. Even then, it's debatable.

If you're comfortable with divs and CSS, go for it. If you're not, I see no harm in using tables. CSS/divs are just nicer and cleaner. However, 'nice' often isn't a good enough reason

Good luck!

Quote Originally Posted by inertia View Post
    Morning guys! I am about to re-design / re-build my "hobby" site - Uk Hip Hop, Inertia, Hip Hop, British Hip Hop - Cash Cow Records

When i first built the site i knew very little about SEO but it did perform quite well (mainly coz it's aimed at the niche UK hip hop market).