Submit Your Article Forum Rules

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: McAffee Site Advisor lying about my site!

  1. #1
    Senior Member texxs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    528

    McAffee Site Advisor lying about my site!

    I read a recent post here about McAffee Site Advisor, became curious and checked them out. I ran one of my sites through just to check them out and to my horror they are telling some out right lies and some misleading things about the one site.

    The site is floridafishinginformation.com the advisor report is here.


    They say they "signed up on my web site and are now receiving 2.4 emails a month.
    That's impossible. I don't have a news letter, I never send mass e-mails and sometimes don't even answer real form results from real people. If a real human asks a real question or gives a fishing report I respond but I've certinly never received anything from McAffee!

    In the detailed "E-mail Analysis" section thay are giving me a 3 out of 10 "spammines" rating!
    Again, I don't have a newsletter nor do I do any mass e-mail of any kind!

    The "Established In" date is way wrong (1996 not 2004!)

    Overall it's not a bad report I suppose, but it's not accurate, and for some reason that whole spamminess thing has me really irked!



    You should see what they say about "googlesyndication.com!" Hilarious!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    46
    I can't say why McAfee got it so wrong. But I have McAfee Site Advisor installed on IE 6, and the good news is that it shows green, with a ballooned comment to the effect that McAfee tested the website and found no significant issues.

    I'm guessing that very few people would follow the link to details to learn more.

    DrayScherm

    dray design studio
    www.draydesign.com

  3. #3
    Senior Member craigmn3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    476

    Buyer Beware

    You could be sending out Spam e-mail and not even know it.

    I have one site hosted by godaddy,com that started sending me emails with "Cannot send error" messages
    when i looked at the email addresses sending these messages they weren't mine, but somoeone who had hacked into godaddy (either directly or through my portal) and was creating and sending emails through names they made on my domain. (via whatever@mydomain.com)
    When I contacted godaddy about this, they told me to turn off the catch all feature of my main account. All this would do, would to be keep me from getting the messages. They offered no relief from the problem except that they would check into it.
    Bottom line is somebody could be using your domain name to send spam and you wouldn't even know about.... call your hoster and make sure this is not the case.

    If you are clean, then call McAffee and blow a spleen.

  4. #4
    WebProWorld MVP SemAdvance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,037

    Re: Buyer Beware

    Quote Originally Posted by craigmn3
    You could be sending out Spam e-mail and not even know it.

    I have one site hosted by godaddy,com that started sending me emails with "Cannot send error" messages
    when i looked at the email addresses sending these messages they weren't mine, but somoeone who had hacked into godaddy (either directly or through my portal) and was creating and sending emails through names they made on my domain. (via whatever@mydomain.com)
    When I contacted godaddy about this, they told me to turn off the catch all feature of my main account. All this would do, would to be keep me from getting the messages. They offered no relief from the problem except that they would check into it.
    Bottom line is somebody could be using your domain name to send spam and you wouldn't even know about.... call your hoster and make sure this is not the case.

    If you are clean, then call McAffee and blow a spleen.
    He's correct. Your server could be controlled by a zombie network or such. They are so good they can turn things on and off by remote control seemingly.

    And if you are such a victim you owe McAfee a retraction.

  5. #5
    Senior Member texxs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    528
    They offered no relief from the problem except that they would check into it.
    I can help where godaddy cannot... Try disabling "Formmail.cgi" or renaming it at least. Also configure the security systems in it (not as hard as it sounds). Spammers have figured out how to use it to send their e-mails...

    As far this being the prob w/ my Mcaffe thing, I'm not thinking that's it (my hosting company swears I can leave formail.cgi intact as they have some kind of secret procedure that stops spammers from doing this . . .), because the mcaffee site showes the subjewct line of the e-mails they recieved and it is the one that shows when the form sends me an e-mail (its mispelled because I'm the only one who sees it), with an re: in front of it.

    ie; when someone fills out the form, i get an e-mail with the subject line: FFI feddback they show an e-mail subject line that says RE:FFI feddback.

    But you're right what else can I do but contact them.

    And DrayScherm is right too, overall they still give me a positive rating so maybe I should just let it go.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    263
    Hey Texx,

    I'm guessing you saw my message in the other thread about our problems with McAfee SiteAdvisor. If you like you can try contacting the support guy I've been in contact with. I'll PM you his email address. Not sure it will get you anywhere as they still haven't removed all the ridiculous comments about our site, but you're welcome to try.

    I just had a thought... What if instead of PMing the McAfee support guy's email I posted it publicly so that it could be harvested by spam bots. LOL!

    - Paul

  7. #7
    Senior Member texxs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    528
    I'm guessing you saw my message in the other thread about our problems with McAfee SiteAdvisor
    -- Yup!

    Thanks for the PM!

  8. #8
    Senior Member craigmn3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    476

    Thanks

    Thanks for the info Texxs

  9. #9

    Bogus email sender addresses

    It's also conceivable that the spams are being sent out with your address as the sender without any access to your mail server-- there's really nothing (much) that prevents you from putting any sender address you want at the top of an email... If they trace things back using the header and the messages are originating from your server that's a different matter, but if this is only based on the sender address matching your domain, then, well... there's really nothing to be done about it, and it proves nothing about whether you actually sent the message anyway.

    -A
    After Cheese: Movie and Pop Culture Commentary
    -a

  10. #10
    Spam-mails are always sent with a faked return address, but that could only have confused one of SiteAdvisors voluntary reviewers - not their automatic robot simply signing up to any forms present.

    However, below the surface there might be a phish lurking nevertheless. I was recently reminded of a somewhat similar case, where the websites owner obviously still isn't aware of the hidden phish (at least they haven't removed it yet):

    http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/uni...871#post314871

    In any case, you could post your own comment on Siteadvisor, speaking on behalf of the site itself...
    Photo + Graphic + Animation
    www.madsdam.net

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. site advisor by McAfee
    By netgirl1961 in forum IT Discussion Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-20-2006, 06:58 AM
  2. Cool Site(Advisor)
    By wbmcl in forum Google Discussion Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-17-2006, 05:09 PM
  3. Server Performance Advisor
    By WPW_Feedbot in forum IT Discussion Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-29-2005, 12:01 AM
  4. Please review www.bad-credit-advisor.com
    By jp6212 in forum Submit Your Site For Review
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-30-2004, 04:00 PM
  5. Who are you lying to?
    By wenwilder in forum The Castle Breakroom (General: Any Topic)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-23-2004, 02:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •