Submit Your Article Forum Rules

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Becoming a Server

Becoming a Server

I am a newbie of course (as it says to the right) to networking. I have good knowledge of Web design and I was thinking about hosting it myself. Any ideas on what I would need and how I would get about to do this?

Thanks,
    Bon Bon

Becoming a server.

I would seriously rethink this matter. There is a great difference between being a web designer and a web host. Does being married to your computer 24/7 really appeal to you?
    Foye M Troute
    Internet Consultant/Developer

It would not harm to have a go. I am married to my PC anyway seems as I use it to compose music, create adverts and chat on messenger. It seems fine to me.

Becoming a server

Are you thinking about hosting your own site or a combination of your site and other people's/organization's web sites?
    Foye M Troute

I am having an online services section on my site where I will provide free webspace for newbies making sites and I will host a range of my sites too.

If you have any more questions please fire away with them. I will answer as many as possible in as full detail as possible.

Hosting is a huge responsibility. Many of my clients (I offer hosting) depend upon their sites being up 24/7.

Being a good host means you understand the technicalities of a good MySQL setup, email programs, OS, etc., etc. Plus you have to stay up with the lastest updates to whatever server-side programming languages you support.

Then too, you have to be able to diplomatically help your customers when they mistake their own user errors for server errors.

Oh, and I haven't even touched the hardware issues yet. I used to own a chain of computer shops where we built and repaired PC's, but no one can really stay up with all fields, so I have others take care of this part of the business for me.