Submit Your Article Forum Rules

Thread: Page Rank Change

Page Rank Change

I am a web designer who, before retirement, worked for a corp in San Jose and published 200+ pages that were proprietary to the company. They existed on an Intranet site behind a firewall. I never had to contend with Internet Search Engines so PR never was an issue.

Since leaving the company, I started doing web design from a small town in Texas. When I first published my site, Google gave me a PR of 3. In an effort to increase that I renamed several pages, splitting the names with hyphens rather than leaving the words run together. All pages except index.html were renamed and all now have a PR of Zero.

That has been about 2 months ago. My host site tells me that Google has crawled my site many time since then, but none of the other pages came back up from the zero ranking.

Is there anything I can do to rectify this? I'm very new to SEO but am anxious to learn.

My site is http://www.spwwebwork.com. I have been adding pages and changing text and layout on a daily basis. Nothing seems to help. I'd appreciate your replies.
    StuW
    Hidden Content - cutting edge web development where visions become reality.
    Hidden Content - affordable original web design.

WebProWorld MVP ronniethedodger's Avatar
    Every time you changed the actual filename of the page, Google thinks it is a new page. You will have to wait for it to reindex and assign a PR to it.

I am showing a PR of 3 for your Index page. Google is not showing the other pages yet due to your recent renaming. Give it a little time and they should come up....stop renaming em dude!!! ;0)