Submit Your Article Forum Rules

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: What's up here?

  1. #1
    WebProWorld MVP brian.mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    2,709

    What's up here?

    Can someone give me a clue why this site is ranked #2 in MSN's search for dewalt parts?

    www . ishop . co . uk

    Really, really strange. I don't see any cloaking. Just seems like very off-topic results which will make for a poor user experience.

    Brian.
    ToolBarn.com, an Internet Retailer Top 500 and Inc. 500 Company | Tool Parts | Pet Supplies

  2. #2
    Senior Member SnerdeyWebs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    South Padre Island, TX
    Posts
    749

    Hmm, that is interesting.

    I'm not sure. That's a wild result. I wonder how that happened.

    Any takers on this?
    10% TemplateMonster Discount - Everyday! * Visit the Snerdey Blog
    Ecommerce l CMS Templates | Wordpress | Dynamic Photo Gallery

  3. #3
    I'm not really sure...

    I noticed you aren't in the UK though. Is your website? It may have nothing to do with this and I may have misunderstood your question, if so please ignore this:

    MSN (the new index that was launched is slightly different to the beta) is heaveily filtered by geographical IP addresses.

    My websites do VERY poor for me here in the UK (even when I search on MSN.com) but on my servers in the states when I check using them, I rank VERY high.

    The same goes for some very popular US sites here, they just fail to show up anywhere really in the new MSN index (of today).

    If your site is hosted in the states you may well find when you ask friends in the UK to do a search for your site, it ranks very poorly here. Seems strange... Even moreso when you are using a .co.uk domain name.

    I've already sent feedback to MSN, their filter is WAY too heavy, I can't find the sites I want, lets hope they take notice (you might want to consider sending feedback yourself?).

  4. #4
    WebProWorld MVP brian.mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    2,709

    That's not my site.

    That's not my site I'm asking about. We're listed below that right now (although an affiliate of ours is #1, at least in the states.)

    We're not in the U.K., and I've tried this on quite a few machines in the middle of the US. MSN is looking pretty good, but a few tweaks here and there are needed.
    ToolBarn.com, an Internet Retailer Top 500 and Inc. 500 Company | Tool Parts | Pet Supplies

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    5

    SE Link Hijack

    SE link Hijack

    I was writing to see if any of you have seen a link on a search engine be hijacked by another sites info. Is this the case with what some of you mention?

    My site www.sandiegorealestatecentral.com is being taken over by another web hosting site’s meta content on MSN search.
    http://search.msn.com/results.aspx?q...t=10&FORM=PORE
    If you go to MS N.com and type in ‘san diego homes’ Currently on the second page you will find the link to Ur ban Ink Design | URB AN-INK.COM ... This still goes to my site, but is drastically affecting my ranking based on their meta content.

    Do you think this is a Index bug in MSN’s new search engine? Or someone doing some black bag SEO?

    Feed back is appreciated

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •