Submit Your Article Forum Rules

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: My site has gone missing from Yahoo

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    2

    My site has gone missing from Yahoo

    M website www.berrydog.com was ranked very high on several keywords on yahoo like (bikinis & swimwear). All of a sudden it just disappeared. At first I thought it was only temporary but I keep checking for the last 3 months and it is not back. I tried submitting my URL for inclusion but that had no effect. Any suggestions or help in this matter would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    5
    Look for spammy tricks on your website

  3. #3
    Senior Member sudhani's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    379
    Your Spammy spacer image is caught.



    Don't use alt tags for images less than 5*5 size.

    You added lot of keywords for images with 1px height or 1px width

    This is pretty obvious. There could be more things also. Btw, do you have good rankings on Google?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    19

    Oh puleeeeze...

    Dude, your spacer img is not why your banned. Though it isnt the cleverest seo i've ever seen :)

    Are any other sites on your IP C block out? - looks like Y! are IP banning based on C blocks to me...
    Threadwatch.org less noise, more signal

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    2

    banned from Yahoo

    Hi Everyone,

    thanks for the info. Do you really think that if I remove some of the alt tags and change the name to some of my spacers I will get listed again? I was on yahoo for over a year with the same configuration I have so did they change the way they list website?

    Also, I rank high on google. will me making the changes you suggest cause my ranking to go down in google?

    Lastly, what is a C-block.

    Any help will be very much appreciated.

    Also, how much would you charge to fix my front page to improve my ranking in both google and get me back on yahoo.

    Lastly, I used to do pay for click program with yahoo/overture. Do you think they kicked me out to get me to by back into the clicks program?

    Thanks,


    Al

  6. #6
    "looks like Y! are IP banning based on C blocks"

    Please could someone expand on the above, what was meant by Yahoo are IP banning??

    Ive been having the same problem that I have suddenly been dropped from their rankings

    www.bodyjewelryshopping.com

    steve
    South East Asia web designers and SEO companies

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    19
    123.456.XXX.234

    XXX = the C block

    You can see here for more links to threads about Yahoo (possibly) banning on C blocks: http://www.threadwatch.org/node/237

    You can also email ystfeedback@yahoo.com to ask that your website be reviewed if you think it is banned.

    WARNING: Do check all the obvious first though: Check your robots.txt, check you logs and see if Y! and G are finding pages ok etc etc..

    One thing is for certain, as I said earlier: it is NOT your damn spacer gif! Dont grasp at straws in search of an answer, look at the problem with eyes wide open :)
    Threadwatch.org less noise, more signal

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    72

    Re: Oh puleeeeze...

    Quote Originally Posted by Nick W
    Are any other sites on your IP C block out? - looks like Y! are IP banning based on C blocks to me...
    Do you have more information about this Nick W?
    Because I don't beleive that Yahoo or Google could bann based on C blocks, simply because there are like 2 million addresses in the C class so if you have several websites it is possible to have their ip's in the same class.
    I think you mean that if you have websites in the same class (class C is between 192. and 223.) and you link them together you could get punished. I'm saying that because I've seen several posts like this on the forums, but I don't beleive it.
    I mean there are a lot of websites that share the same ip and even if they exchange links (not heavily) that won't get them banned.
    In my opinion Google and Yahoo give less importance to the backlinks that come from websites using the same ip, but those are taken into consideration too (except if it's a link farming scheme).
    So, I would like to beleive that having backlinks from a website with the same ip would weight like 10 times less then having a backlink from a website in a different class. Anyone correct me if I'm wrong but I don't beleive that you can get yourself banned if you have another website that links to you in the same class.
    Softland
    Try our Backup Software!
    Try our PDF Creator!

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    19
    No, no evidence. Only threads ive pieced together and a bit of educated guess work. One of those threads points to an entire ISP getting booted..

    I did speak to someone at Y! about this and he didnt confirm or deny it but did say that he wouldnt comment on it publicaly as these things are usually server or human error related.

    Im not so sure, i think they have a few problems to sort out...
    Threadwatch.org less noise, more signal

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    72
    Ok it seems that I was making a confusion because I thought you referred to a C Class Network.
    I thought I could explain that, because maybe there are others that didn't understand.
    There are 3 major Network classes, A, B, C
    Each of this classes consists of 2 blocks.
    Like for instance, a C class block it's considered to be 193 but also 193.0-255. So it would be correct to say "Block 193-Block 193.1" even if 193.1 should be considered a sub-block.
    So "C block" in this case would be the range of ips from a class in the 3rd block level. It sounds so complicated :)
    A "C block" for the 193.0 class would be from 193.0.0.x to 193.0.255.x where x varies from 0 to 255 so a total of 256*256 Ip addresses (65536)
    Softland
    Try our Backup Software!
    Try our PDF Creator!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Can you tell me what I am missing in my site for free templates?
    By Segmadis in forum Submit Your Site For Review
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-19-2008, 03:09 AM
  2. Review of site - What am I missing?
    By upright in forum Submit Your Site For Review
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-10-2008, 11:09 AM
  3. sugestions on what my site may be missing
    By charmitch in forum Submit Your Site For Review
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-25-2007, 10:20 PM
  4. my site is missing from Google
    By ldylion214 in forum Google Discussion Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-01-2006, 11:11 PM
  5. Site missing from google !
    By Biggles in forum Google Discussion Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-25-2004, 05:34 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •