Submit Your Article Forum Rules

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: oem software

  1. #1
    Senior Member markhallgate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    190

    oem software

    hello,
    i have been looking at buying dreamweaver for a while, and i just came across some sites offering sofware at what seems like stupid cheap prices. i am a bit aprehensive about buying software from these sites and wondered if anyone else had any dealings with them before and could offer any advice as to whether or not they where pukka. the site are: www.oem-software.biz and www.buy-here-now.biz any advice is apreciated as i really one to buy dreamweaver but can't afford the normal prices. many thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    174
    Most likely they are selling pirated software. They claim that the software is so cheap because you dont get the original packaging or manuals. The thought that you could save $400 on adobe indesign because the is no packaging just doesnt sound right. Also both the domain names you provided were just created within the last 30 days. Check back in a few months, if they are still around and the software giants lawyers havent had them taken down then they might be legit.

    There is also a good chance that they are not pirating software but instead are just trying to get your credit card number. If this is the case you will pay a lot more than they say and never see the software.

    I just wouldnt bother with those sites anyway because I just went through their ordering process up to the point where they want my credit card number and still havent come to a secure page (https).

    Nothing good will come to you by ordering from one of these sites.

    Joe
    Joe
    GimmeItNow.com
    Shopping Directory
    Gift Registry For Any Occassion

  3. #3
    Senior Member esiegel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    107
    looks like: www.oem-software.biz is down already
    Ed Siegel - Business Information Manager
    Ampacet Corporation
    http://www.Ampacet.com

  4. #4
    Senior Member markhallgate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    190
    thanks for the advice i think i will stay clear of these sites, looks like i will have to brake the piggy bank after all, lol

  5. #5
    Senior Member paulhiles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,073
    Difficult to tell whether the CDs would be genuine or not.. they do have the following statement in amongst their FAQs.

    a) How can you sell this software as OEM ? It seems too good to be true - is there a catch?
    There is no catch - the software versions that we sell are OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) which means you will receive the installation CDs only (they do not come in their original retail packing and do not include the manual). We do guarantee that all programs are the 100% full working retail versions - no demos or academic versions! When you order, you will receive all materials required for a complete installation - or your money back! Why pay hundreds of dollars more when you can get exactly the same but OEM-CD? You don't have to pay that much for the fancy box and manuals.
    I think Joe's post above offers the best advice. Particularly worrying is the fact that no secure page is available for payment.

    PS. This post has been moved into IT Discussion from the Break Room.

    Paul

  6. #6
    Senior Member markhallgate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    190
    i emailed the company about the secure site and they emailed back a secure server address (https://e-bracken.com/oemsoft) and said to use this for ordering, still seems strange not to use this as the default server for all orders though.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    58

    oem software

    Well Mark, don't leave us hanging. Did you order or not?
    Beaudoin LeBlanc

  8. #8
    Senior Member markhallgate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    190
    to be honest im still a bit wary as to get it or not.
    i knoqw its cheap for the products but it its still a fair few quid to risk. if i buy it i will put a post on here to let you know and then if i recieve it i will let you know what it is like.
    i fany one else has brought from one of these site please let me know.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    174
    Quote Originally Posted by markhallgate
    i knoqw its cheap for the products but it its still a fair few quid to risk.
    Its only a few quid if they charge your credit card what they say they will. If you do decide to order use a card with a credit limit you can afford to lose.

    You could also first try to contact Macromedia and ask if there is any possible way someone could sell their product for the price that those sites advertise and still make a profit. If they cant make a profit then it is either a scam or pirated software.

    Joe
    Joe
    GimmeItNow.com
    Shopping Directory
    Gift Registry For Any Occassion

  10. #10
    Senior Member markhallgate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    190
    i posted a message in the macromedia forum about the software the reply was:

    Murray
    It's a scam. MM has never created or released OEM software.
    looks like i'll be paying full wack then. :(

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-08-2008, 05:17 AM
  2. Quest Software Acquires Imceda Software Inc.
    By WPW_Feedbot in forum IT Discussion Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-07-2005, 06:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •