Submit Your Article Forum Rules

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: So lame, can this bot be prevented?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    147

    So lame, can this bot be prevented?

    Hello everyone, for the first time I encountered a bot in our site that I really don't like if it's doing what I'm thinking it's doing.

    Website_Downloader_http://www.duelta.com

    I'm not sure but I think it's a program that downloads the entire site. I know that it's impossible to prevent the copying of materials but copying our entire website seems a little lame.

    Does anyone have any experiences with this and possible ways of prevention? I'm somehow inclined to believe that it wouldn't obey robots.txt even if included there.

    Yours truly,

  2. #2
    Senior Member eightfifteen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    406
    I think you can specify thet in your robots.txt file.

    Something like:

    User-agent: duelta
    Disallow: /

  3. #3
    Senior Member paulhiles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,073
    Niko, when I type in duelta.com in my browser, I'm automatically re-directed to Lomasake.fi
    I think I'd be tempted to do a lookup on the domain name.

    Update: I just checked that.. and that's your domain name... doh! :o)

    Can you post the extract from your logfiles which gives the user-agent string for the bot? is it simply called Website_Downloader? most legitimate bots will carry a public page address giving further info on its purpose.

  4. #4
    Senior Member eightfifteen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    406
    DOH for me as well. What bot is it?

  5. #5
    Senior Member paulhiles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,073
    I have a feeling that rather than a bot, it's actually someone with a program called Website Downloader. I'm guessing any site they like the look of they'll just enter the URL, click submit, and Bam, all your links, graphics, etc are downloaded in a trice!

    Not a great deal you can do to defend yourself against this. If you're seeing repeat visits from the same IP you could obviously block this user, but no completely satisfactory solution.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    147
    Thanks for your replies, I'll ask our programmer to provide the log details.

    I'm inclined to believe that this is an actual user using a website downloader program. Also, checking up on ip:s that have made such amounts of hits and pages I believe it's a cable service provider that has a dynamic ip. This would be annoying. Hmph.

    Anyways, I'll post to this thread as soon as I'm wiser and thanks all for your support.

    Regards,

Similar Threads

  1. Ask is lame
    By janeth in forum Search Engine Optimization Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-31-2008, 08:57 PM
  2. Lame computer Virus
    By wenwilder in forum Internet Security Discussion Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-03-2006, 09:03 AM
  3. Fred Says: Google Is Lame
    By WPW_Feedbot in forum Search Engine Optimization Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-16-2005, 11:00 AM
  4. You are Lame
    By G[dot]com in forum The Castle Breakroom (General: Any Topic)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-15-2004, 07:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •