Submit Your Article Forum Rules

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 55

Thread: Time to Find an IE Alternative?

  1. #21
    Senior Member Artyom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    178

    From Big FF fan

    Quote Originally Posted by Catalyst
    I hated to give up IE and all my cookies that remember all my passwords but I finally switched to Firefox and am SOOOOOOOO glad I did!

    I no longer have to worry about all the IE threats that are out there including drive-by parasite installs. The "open in tabs" feature is an awesome and time saving tool. The bookmark organization is much better and overall Firefox is faster and cleaner.
    Just please, make sure you read this warning and do what that said
    http://www.mozilla.org/security/shell.html

    I've switched to FF 0.9.2 by simple deinstall of FF 0.9.1 (don't delete the entire folder where the browser is located)
    and then install FF 0.9.2.
    Artyom Diogtev
    Website design and development Hidden Content

  2. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    18
    Downloaded Firefox, works great.

    Prints out order a little differently, and will
    stick to IE for that.

    But by putting 1/2 the work stuff on Firefox
    and leaveing half on IE,

    I can streamline both modules to be easier to use.

    At the very least, competition should be good to
    stimulate IE.

  3. #23
    Senior Member xmx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    281
    I am with Linux & Mozilla since a lot of time.

    The recent tabs function alone is worth the switching
    of browser in my opinion.
    I am totally addicted to it.

    And I am glad I don't have to care too much each time
    a new security alert is released.

  4. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    12

    Re: FireFox........CSS Compliant

    Quote Originally Posted by a_snowden
    FireFox is great and certainly shows up websites which don't have tight html or CSS.

    I have a problem with ( some ) Java Scripts on sites I use not working in Firefox. Anyone know of a cure for that?
    I have also seen this problem with Javascript and Firefox.... Anybody else, does anyone know what to do?
    Every day is a winding road... Try not to get lost.
    Search Engine Optimization Hidden Content

  5. #25
    WebProWorld MVP minstrel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    2,550
    Quote Originally Posted by Catalyst
    I no longer have to worry about all the IE threats that are out there including drive-by parasite installs.
    No... now you have to worry about the Firefox threats instead: see this article and this one.

    And if any of the alternate browsers ever manage to climb above 1-5% of the market, expect to see increased attention paid to as yet undiscovered vulnerabilities in those browsers by net pirates and looters.

    overall Firefox is faster and cleaner.
    I keep hearing this... it hasn't been my experience, though.

  6. #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    5
    Modzilla Firefox has been the one, it even blocks those pop ups. There is much I still need to learn about firefox but for now it will be my default browser.

  7. #27
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    13
    I would like to switch from ie, but I have a toolbar I use regularly with ie, and I've noticed with the toolbars they usually say "for use with ie" - can any of the toolbars be used with any of these alternative browsers?
    Thanks
    Sue

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    544
    Quote Originally Posted by myclassy67
    I would like to switch from ie, but I have a toolbar I use regularly with ie, and I've noticed with the toolbars they usually say "for use with ie" - can any of the toolbars be used with any of these alternative browsers?
    Try this thread, if you mean the google toolbar.......
    Regards, Peter
    Hidden Content - Hidden Content

  9. #29
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    13
    Peter,
    Thank you. I do have the google toolbar on ie, but the one I use the most is the yahoo campanion with my bookmarks.
    Sue

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    544
    Quote Originally Posted by myclassy67
    Peter,
    Thank you. I do have the google toolbar on ie, but the one I use the most is the yahoo campanion with my bookmarks.
    Yahpoo.....ooppss, Yahoo... Lets all hope they all start to offer multi-browser toolbars, seeing as IE is currently getting a battering in the security department.

    Sorry for misunderstanding :)
    Regards, Peter
    Hidden Content - Hidden Content

Similar Threads

  1. PHP time function depending on visitors time zone.
    By kgun in forum General Tech Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-01-2010, 12:45 PM
  2. Google Adwords targetting same time in different time zones
    By Mong in forum Google AdWords/Google AdSense
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 02:05 PM
  3. When you find the time...
    By [ evL ] in forum The Castle Breakroom (General: Any Topic)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-06-2006, 10:31 AM
  4. Will google cache change from time to time?
    By thecross in forum Google Discussion Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-10-2005, 10:49 AM
  5. www.sensible-alternative.com.au
    By jonathanbriden in forum Submit Your Site/Logo For Review
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-21-2004, 12:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •