Well, I do see the occasional person get his attention on Twitter...https://twitter.com/#!/mattcutts
Well, I do see the occasional person get his attention on Twitter...https://twitter.com/#!/mattcutts
I have still not seen a serious proof that inbound links can hurt a site. The only serious test I know of is
Source: http://www.webpronews.com/is-google-...ssible-2012-05Rand Fishkin at SEOmoz has been testing the negative SEO waters, challenging others to hurt his sites’ rankings. He told us a couple weeks ago that despite thousands of questionable links, his sites were still ranking well.
In addition do you reply on behalf of Jaan Kanellis http://www.linkedin.com/in/jaankanellis owner at KBK MarketingSEO/Traffic Specialist at iNET Interactive? He was a moderator here at WPW long before you and a respected member.
Now lets make a reduction ad absurdum. Think of three identical search engines aside from this feature:
- Search engine A zero out suspect links.
- Search engine B give suspect links a negative weight.
- Search engine C let web masters report suspect links.
- Which search engine would you prefer?
- Which search engines SERPs will you rely mostly on?
- Which search engine is most objective in your view?
Last edited by kgun; 06-15-2012 at 05:50 PM.
Mini Network:: Financial information at your fingertips
Learn object oriented programming where it started
Conversations creates communities and conversions create profit.
The only thing I can think of, is perhaps they've linked to you, in a discreet manner, because somehow you are linking to them in a discreet manner?
Are you approving comments without screening the links found within them, ect...
Why else would they link to you in a subversive way?
If you are not linking to them, there is quite literally nothing that can be done. Whoever the domain belongs to, that's their virtual property and they can link to you however they want. It's not going to do you any harm unless you link back to them.
No, as I tried to explain, I have had no contact with this site, and I do not link to them in any way. If we had some kind of underhand arrangement I would have no need to raise the question here.
I have a blog which is part of my site, but commenting is not enabled. In any case the links are on their site, not mine.
I have no idea, it was was one of the questions in my opening post.
Then what is Penguin all about? Isn"t it exactly this kind of thing, which may appear that I have some involvement in when I don't, that looks wrong to Google?
Bah, the OP is not hiding anything in his content.Originally Posted by Sonisingh
ozsubasi, did you ever blast your site with auto-placed comment links or anything? There seems to be a hidden comments section on the page you've mentioned, and it says "Posted August 13, 2011" about your particular comment.
Last edited by weegillis; 06-19-2012 at 09:12 PM. Reason: bbcode href
To update, this identical link appears on two different sites. I did send a report to Google and received an acknowledgement but nothing further. I emailed the site registrant as per whois (not surprisingly it is the same person for both sites) but the email address given doesn't exist. I have just contacted the hosts (Godaddy) and am waiting for their reply.
Godaddy replied, but although the sites are registered with them they are not the hosts. I found who the hosts were and have emailed them.
Meanwhile, I tried the "contact us" page on one of the sites (the other has no contact details) and sent an email off explaining the problem. They replied that they were not the owners of the site, and their reply carried a link to their site. I went there, it is a different domain name to the site I have problems with, but it is identical, down to the contact details and order form. However, it does not have any hidden links. Whois shows a different registrant.
I've now just had a further email saying that the copy site are re-directing visitors to the original without their consent, and their legal department is dealing with it.
That sounds a bit thin to me - why should they be concerned about someone sending them clients? Anyway I have reported it all to Google again, I feel I am doing their job instead of mine.
Last edited by weegillis; 06-27-2012 at 12:55 AM.