Submit Your Article Forum Rules

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: My Entire website copied and used almost as is on another domain!

  1. #1
    Senior Member Mamoon Rashid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Lahore, Pakistan
    Posts
    308

    My Entire website copied and used almost as is on another domain!

    Hi there,

    This is my website : www.hashe.com

    and http://jbintegrators.com/ is the website of the person who has literally copied my website on put it under "Offshore Software Development" link that is on his front page....which goes to http://www.jbintegrators.com/apps/ which is 99% replica of my www.hashe.com

    I have asked him to remove it but he says.. .do whatever you can.... now what you guys say ... what should I do ?

    thanks...
    Mamoon Rashid
    Hashe Computer Solutions - Offering Full Time offshore IT staff, programming and web design services.
    Hashe on FaceBook - Please Join Us on FaceBook

  2. #2
    Senior Member Mamoon Rashid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Lahore, Pakistan
    Posts
    308
    hmm.. you guys have nothing to say ???
    Mamoon Rashid
    Hashe Computer Solutions - Offering Full Time offshore IT staff, programming and web design services.
    Hashe on FaceBook - Please Join Us on FaceBook

  3. #3
    Member jaycar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    35
    I would find out who hosts his website and have a word to them. Short of that, I don't think there is a lot you can do.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Boulder, CO USA
    Posts
    371
    Report to Google. They have a tool to report spamming websites.
    Feel assured that the later pages (stolen site) that come out are duplicate pages and given a lower rank.

    Yes, find the host and report it to them. However, most want the money from their client and will do nothing.

    Send an official cease and desist. Copy your attorney. Better yet, have your attorney send it. I'm amazed at how many companies don't use one. Get one and get one now. It's worth it.

    Copyright your site (get attorney's advice on how to do it).

    Start adding a watermark to your images that are hard to photoshop out.

    If they hotlinked to your images, change the image names and upload ugly images with the old name.

    I've seen IPs from India systematically going through my website for one product line.
    I banned the whole country IP because they kept coming back with new one.
    After you ban it, then include the no-cache tags so they can't get it via SE cached content.
    However, it's too late for you.

    Beware of banning entire countries because I saw my server slow down. First ban the group of IPs returned when you research the IP.

    Get a dynamic site programmed with esoteric methods that are hard to duplicate.

    The best advice will come from your attorney because this is, indeed, a legal issue.

    Good luck!

  5. #5
    WebProWorld MVP morestar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario (Burlington)
    Posts
    4,259
    Well, Blitzen's got a lot of good solutions to some of your problems but I'd say go public about it too.

    Blog about the theivery in all the ways you can, in several places and create new links from here and there to those pages/posts whilst making sure you've got their domain name all over the place and basically try to rank them out for their domain (which probably won't happen) but at least you'll get number 2.

    Once the competitor sees this kind of action they may cease and desist due to embarrassment.

    This could back-fire and give them free advertising, so don't link to them. Be honest, say what their doing, even be light about it cause it is silly isn't it?

    I've noticed they've copied a lot of your text too within the internal pages so take Blitzen's advice whole-heartedly - try to communicate this with Google.

    Just blog about jbintegrators at jbintegrators.com...
    Join a free dating site and meet single people in your area.
    Submit your content at my content publishing site and promote your business, services or opinions.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    526
    I am not a lawyer, but if I were you and on a budget, I would do my best to find where he lives and then contact his local police station. It is not their jurisdiction to worry about you however, but perhaps this person is well known with them?

    You could also file a DMCA with Google... http://www.google.com/support/bin/st....cs&ts=1114905

    To my understanding a take down letter from a lawyer might have an effect, especially if they are in reach of the law.

  7. #7
    WebProWorld MVP williamc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    On a really big hill in Kentucky
    Posts
    4,721
    Quote Originally Posted by MrGamm View Post
    You could also file a DMCA with Google... http://www.google.com/support/bin/st....cs&ts=1114905

    To my understanding a take down letter from a lawyer might have an effect, especially if they are in reach of the law.
    You can file a DMCA takedown letter to their hosting provider as well and see some fast action.
    William Cross
    Web Development by Those Damn Coders
    Firearm Friendly Websites because our constitution matters

  8. The following user agrees with williamc:
  9. #8
    Senior Member Mamoon Rashid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Lahore, Pakistan
    Posts
    308
    thank you all.. for your advice... really appreciate it..
    Mamoon Rashid
    Hashe Computer Solutions - Offering Full Time offshore IT staff, programming and web design services.
    Hashe on FaceBook - Please Join Us on FaceBook

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Swansea, United Kingdom
    Posts
    71
    Hi Mamoon Rashid.

    I took a quick look and found that the http://jb int egrators .c o m/ website is still showing identical content as your www.hashe.com website.

    This kind of thing really annoys me as I have had this done to myself twice plus numerous single page duplications.

    On a quick look, I see the jb integrators . com registrant is a PO Box No in Saudi Arabia, so they most probably think nobody can touch them. However, the website is hosted on an America web host. So, you should get the content removed by sending the host a DMCA as williamc suggested. Any reputable US hosting company will act on a valid DMCA request.

    I did some digging around and found that the host is most probably a reseller account on one of the large US commercial hosts. The host reseller seems to have privacy on their registration, but you should be able to get around this. I have a number of contact email and physical mail addresses that seem to point to the ultimate host.

    If you are still trying to get the duplicated material removed and need contact details, please PM me. I will gladly supply you with the info.

    If you have already taken action and are waiting for a response, then excellent. Good luck.
    Last edited by Robert James; 05-30-2011 at 08:44 PM.
    Greetings from Funchal, the capital city of Madeira

  11. #10
    Senior Member texxs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    528
    Reporting him as a spammer will most likely backfire. The action you describe aren't spamming they are copyright infringement. That is if the theme you are using isn't open source and was developed by your company. If you purchased the theme, you don't own the copyrights (unless you bought the exclusive rights which are far, far more expensive) and thus can only pursue the matter of the content).

    In addition to his web host you can send a DMCA notice to his domain registrar. A DMCA notice to both of those, if they are reputable and he isn't self hosting, can get the site taken down and perhaps even get him banned as a customer.
    You can also send a DMCA to Google and just about every other search engine out there.. If you jump through the hoops he will be removed from their index fairly promptly. Here's a link to Google's DMCA form:
    https://www.google.com/webmasters/to...a-notice?pli=1 You can also send them one via certified mail like a lawyer would do.

    Your site wouldn't happen to be indexed by archive.org would it? That can be very helpful. If it is include a link to the oldest archive of the current theme in your DMCA takedown notice.

    Please come back and tell us the progress.

    Personal notes:
    He even claimed your portfolio! What a bastard!
    On the front page, your English is 99% perfect except for the first of the top three boxes. (just change "of" to "in") It's a shame because those boxes reflect poorly on your otherwise perfect English. I only mention it because I know from my Russian friends that having imperfect English on your website can erode a potential clients confidence in your ability to work on a project not in your native tongue. I hope I didn't offend you, I'm truly trying to be helpful.

    I hope this helps.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •