Submit Your Article Forum Rules

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Is this legal?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    6

    Is this legal?

    I got this email today. I want to see what you guys think:

    "I left you a message yesterday by phone after discovering your registration of ionoffice.com. We have owned the domain for years, and were perplexed how you were able to register it. We are the definitive trademark and domain owner of ion on the Internet and ask you simply transfer it back to us. We can only guess what your intended use of it
    would be, however, we will protect our rights. I can understand if you may not have been aware of our company, and we may be willing to discuss a future relationship, but you would be ill advised to use the domain or start a site with the term "ion" in it without our consent."

    I guess he's claiming that he owns every domain name that includes the term "ion".

  2. #2
    WebProWorld MVP
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,229
    If you legally registered the domain through a registar, then it is yours. Its probably just someone trying to scare you into giving up a good domain.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Linda Buquet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,425
    If they have "ionoffice" trademarked they may have a case but if they only have "ion" then I don't see how. Not that I"m an expert on trademark law, but I have been doing some research because I just found a great domain that could have tradmark implications with a HUGE company, so I have been trying to find out more.

    From what I have read, if they are serious they will send you a cease & desist. I have also read to be sure not to say or act like you are planning to sell it. That gives them more grounds for a cybersqatting case.
    Linda Buquet :: Google Places Optimization Specialist :: Catalyst eMarketing
    Google Places Optimization Consulting & Training
    Leading Google Places Optimization & Local SEO BLOG

  4. #4
    I looked it up. There are no trademarks on "ion office." The domain is yours.

    There are thousands of domains with the term 'ion' in it. There's an active ionoffice.net. (I assume they're the guys who contacted you.)

    And there are hundreds of different 'ion' trademarks ~ 'ion america', 'ion engine', 'ion max'..and this guy doesn't own them all, if he owns any at all.
    How To Sell Domain Names
    Now #1 on Google!

  5. #5
    Senior Member Linda Buquet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,425
    Edwin,

    I just went to try to check out your site and even though I have ActiveX set to block to prevent parasites and adware from downloading - weatherbug which includes Gator tried to get me to install. You really should remove that parasitic advertiser.

    Here's more info in case you were unaware.

    http://www.google.com/search?sourcei...erbug+parasite

    http://www.google.com/search?sourcei...atherbug+gator
    Linda Buquet :: Google Places Optimization Specialist :: Catalyst eMarketing
    Google Places Optimization Consulting & Training
    Leading Google Places Optimization & Local SEO BLOG

  6. #6
    Guest
    Hi Linda,

    I do not have any adware or any such things on my site to harass visitors. I was very concerned to hear what you encountered.

    Did you have any other Windows open? Could it have come from another source?

    I have not received any other questions or complaints regd this. In fact my ebook is selling well, #3 on Clickbank best sellers list in the domain category and the site has been seen by thousands.

    Would appreciate feedback from other members. Go to: http://www.OpenForSale.com or click on the link below.

    Linda, I appreciate your feedback. Thank you.

  7. #7
    Ooops....the above post was mine.
    How To Sell Domain Names
    Now #1 on Google!

  8. #8
    Senior Member Linda Buquet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,425
    Edwin,

    I just went to your site again and it did not happen.
    I use a popup blocker so was surprised it got through before. Could have come from somewhere else although the last place I visited was here.

    Anyway did not happen again, sorry if it was a false alarm. Your ebook looks great by the way!
    Linda Buquet :: Google Places Optimization Specialist :: Catalyst eMarketing
    Google Places Optimization Consulting & Training
    Leading Google Places Optimization & Local SEO BLOG

  9. #9
    Junior Member PitterPA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    11
    [quote="Catalyst"]Edwin,
    Could have come from somewhere else although the last place I visited was here.


    Hmmmm, I wonder... just kidding

  10. #10
    Guest

    Re: Is this legal?

    Quote Originally Posted by phillypleez
    I got this email today. I want to see what you guys think:

    "I left you a message yesterday by phone after discovering your registration of ionoffice.com. We have owned the domain for years, and were perplexed how you were able to register it. We are the definitive trademark and domain owner of ion on the Internet and ask you simply transfer it back to us. We can only guess what your intended use of it
    would be, however, we will protect our rights. I can understand if you may not have been aware of our company, and we may be willing to discuss a future relationship, but you would be ill advised to use the domain or start a site with the term "ion" in it without our consent."

    I guess he's claiming that he owns every domain name that includes the term "ion".
    Hi there,
    have a lawyer look it over, regarding the merits. It looks to me, that it is so broad a claim, that it can be dismissed by a good lawyer in an initial visit, which is often for free. But check!

    K<o>

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Is this legal?
    By kgun in forum Google Discussion Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-25-2009, 11:18 AM
  2. Is what this guy is doing legal ?
    By ernstt in forum Google Discussion Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-30-2004, 07:08 PM
  3. .net to .com. Is This Legal?
    By apsadmin in forum Google Discussion Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-24-2004, 10:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •