Submit Your Article Forum Rules

Thread: A couple quick questions on CSS positioning and Swiss Army Slideshow on my site.

A couple quick questions on CSS positioning and Swiss Army Slideshow on my site.

Hello all,

I've been a print Graphic Designer for some time (17 years now). I've dabbled in online for a while but the lack of intuitive tools along with the availability of print work have always set me back a bit on web stuff.

I'm developing a site for a client of mine but I'm running into a few issues that I need some help on.

The site is staged here:

jeffnee.com/ksk/

I've implemented the fading buttons from a jQuery tutorial I found online. I like those quite a bit but one oddity is that the containing DIV for the navigation requires me to set the left position to -40px to get it to line up with the content DIV. It's not a big deal but it annoys me that I have to do it. Is there some reason why the DIV with the navigation is offset by 40px?

The next question is in regards to the slideshow that's on the left of the page. I used the Swiss Army javascript to make that slideshow. I just want it to fade between images without controls or links. So I got that one working great. My intent was to have three of them right next to each other so that they span the whole content DIV - each one referring to a different array of images and set to different delay lengths and random photo ordering. That way it doesn't feel like just a static panel of images. Having them advance at different times will make that section feel more dynamic.

The problem is that when I try to duplicate the script and code for the second slideshow, it won't show up next to the first one. It either just doesn't show up or it also breaks the first slideshow. Am I doing it in an inefficient way to try to create three instances of slideshows in that space?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.