Submit Your Article Forum Rules

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Could not create the Java Virtual Machine

  1. #1
    Administrator LD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    3rd rock from the sun
    Posts
    6,707

    Could not create the Java Virtual Machine

    I'm having trouble with a piece of software that, after installation, when I try to run the app I get the message popup:

    Java Virtual Machine Launcher
    X Cound not create teh Java virtual Machine.

    Now - I've been all over the internet looking for suggestions which include, clearing cache, temp files, cleaning up useless files on teh HDrive, uninstalling Java, reinstalling Java, going to the Sun site and the check from their website indicates all is well.

    I've tried just about everything - Any suggestions? It seems to be localized with this one piece of software that their tech support seems to think "This is rather strange as it is the first time we see such a problem." and they go on to suggest uninstalling Java, and reinstalling Java - no good. Any suggestions?
    Hidden Content Markham
    Hidden Content Web Design
    Online SEO Hidden Content Markham.

  2. #2
    Administrator weegillis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    5,781
    Please provide more information:
    1) OS version
    2) hardware
    3) software giving you problems

    Are you using JRE 1.6 (the latest, I believe)? Could it be the software is only compatible with an older version of the JRE?

  3. #3
    Administrator LD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    3rd rock from the sun
    Posts
    6,707
    Win XP SP2
    PC AMD - don't know MB off hand
    SEO Power Suite

    Was using up to date version of Java - think it was 1.6

    Question: I'd like to try to install an older version of JRE - suggestions on where to find older versions of Java?
    Last edited by LD; 08-07-2010 at 05:43 PM.
    Hidden Content Markham
    Hidden Content Web Design
    Online SEO Hidden Content Markham.

  4. #4
    Administrator LD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    3rd rock from the sun
    Posts
    6,707
    tried several version of JRE including 1.5 which the sw couldn't find, tried 1.5.0.22 - and got the "could not create the Java vertial machine" - tried 1.5.0.10 and got the same message.

    I'm going to try all the way back to 1.5.0 and see if I find one that works.
    Hidden Content Markham
    Hidden Content Web Design
    Online SEO Hidden Content Markham.

  5. #5
    Administrator LD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    3rd rock from the sun
    Posts
    6,707
    None of older java versions worked - must be the sw. I'm looking for older versions of the sw to try and see if they work, but no luck so far.
    Hidden Content Markham
    Hidden Content Web Design
    Online SEO Hidden Content Markham.

  6. #6
    Administrator weegillis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    5,781
    Have you searched the SW vendor's support FAQ's? Have you searched for others having similar problems with the SW?

    http://www.google.com/search?q=SEO+P...e+JRE+problems

  7. #7
    Administrator LD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    3rd rock from the sun
    Posts
    6,707
    Vendor has support but not based on this issue. Spend a couple of hours searching, using many combinations of keywords for problems with the sw, but didn't find any links that help or describes the issue. I'm having a rundll32.exe error popup now and then also. noticing it with NAV running. Don't know if the problems are connected.

    I have three monitors and tried connecting a special cable for one - which didn't work well and after a bunch of boots and fooling with where the monitors plug in "best" and configuring the resoution and display rates - soon after started receiving the rundll error - again, don't know if any of this is interconnected at all.

    Was going to start a separate thread on the rundll error for help.
    Hidden Content Markham
    Hidden Content Web Design
    Online SEO Hidden Content Markham.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    recently moved from Oztralia to UKalia
    Posts
    212
    make a small java program - try compiling it - see what the errors are, your system variable are probably messed up, or you have spaces in paths etc

    funny, i found quite a bit on thise when googling it

  9. #9
    Administrator LD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    3rd rock from the sun
    Posts
    6,707
    Apparently the sw requires Java to operate with 768MB of memory for this application. My machine can only utilize 512MB for Java for some reason - which apparently is why I cannot run the app without a special bat file.
    Hidden Content Markham
    Hidden Content Web Design
    Online SEO Hidden Content Markham.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    recently moved from Oztralia to UKalia
    Posts
    212
    sp you are sorted ? use this on your command line -Xmx1024m - this delegates a minimum of 1024 meg to your java program

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •