PDA

View Full Version : fixed retail prices and domain names

lucyhamilton
04-29-2004, 05:39 PM
I am a website designer and I recently set up a site selling cooling neckwraps. I had never seen these over in the UK before and someone I knew had one, and was over the moon with it. I tracked down the manufacturer in Australia and it seemed that there was no UK distributor.

I approached the manufacturer and found there was an office in the UK, but the domain name of the product was still available and as it is a generic term for an Australian friend I bought it. (The company use their own company name for the domain.) The distributor said I could order the neckwraps and use any images and text off their original site in order to help sell the product.

I ordered the stock, made the site live offering a bit of a discount on the RRP (which I had also been informed was OK) as I had seen 3 other sites in the UK discounting the product. That very evening I had a call from the Managing Director in Canada saying I was not allowed to discount the product as they didn't want it to appear cheap and tacky and they also didn't want to annoy their high street retailers. It seems to me that they are making a fixed retail price.

The company could simply stop supplying me, and I would have to source another product, but my question is (at last!) would the company have any right to the domain name? I presume not as it is generic, and also reading the thread about google and booble I see that the company should have been actively defending the name in the first place. Surely it would have been sensible of them to buy it in the first place?! Only now are they drawing up some terms and conditions on selling the product, before this everything was verbal.