PDA

View Full Version : Domain has been hijacked



pdrew
04-03-2004, 09:12 AM
Greetings:

Came into the studio this morning, turned on the computer, fetched my email and discovered a message from a client that my website was down.

I opened IE6, typed in my URL, and sure enough, my DNS has been hijacked by www.pacanka.com.

Now, the wrinkle in this is that my site is/was being hosted on another company's server for whom I've done work. The only other site on the server is the host's company site. That site is gone, too, replaced by pacanka.com. Last year, the company let their IT guy go, so the server was basically running unattended.

The gods had smiled on this unattended server until this morning. The name (a first name repeated twice) before the @-sign in the email address provided on pancanka.com is the same as the IT guy who used to work at the company that's hosting my site! So, I emailed him asking if he's the same guy and for an explanation. I don't have high hopes for a reply. I've put in a call to the owner of the company who owns/runs the server and hope to speak to him by Monday.

Anyway, since my DNS has been stolen/co-opted, does this mean my domain name "www.peterdrewvo.com" is now gone and no longer available to me? Would it work if I got another host? Any guidance as to how to handle this situation would be most appreciated.

Thanks.

carju1
04-03-2004, 06:02 PM
Hi Peter,

No your domain name should be OK as it is curretnly still registered to you (OK I assume you are the same person)

Registrant Contact:
Peter Drew Communication Services
Peter D. Fenstermacher (pdrew@portone.com)
860-291-9476
Fax: none
87 Church Street
East Hartford, CT 06108
US

It looks to me as if your registration is with
Technical Contact:
Network Commerce Inc.
Domain Registration (eHost@NetworkCommerce.com)
206-652-3040
Fax: 206-903-4056
411 First Ave. So., Suite 200N
Seattle, WA 98104
US
so if you need to point at a different DNS then they should do that for you (or you do it yourself).

However looking at the page http://www.peterdrewvo.com/ it looks to me as if this pacanka person has just hacked the server and replaced your home page with a link through to his server. Have you tried replacing your old home page http://www.peterdrewvo.com/index.html with another page?

Julian