View Full Version : Not my site but is my text, how?
MaineWeb
10-16-2003, 03:46 PM
I was searching on Google for "Refurbished Executone" and found my site, which was nice. But then I kept on looking and came across a listing that was my text, but certainly not my address:
refurbished telephone equipment
... At Main Resource our goal is to have the highest quality, most competitively
priced, refurbished Executone, Isoetec, Inter-Tel, Premier, and Toshiba ...
www.613fonthill.com/black-sex-picture-free.htm -
[Moderator Note: The URL has been edited to make it unclickable thus protecting members of the audience from any inadvertant offense (and nagating any free advertising for the site in question). You all know how to cut and paste into the addressbar. - BK]
I didn't click on the link for fear of what the site is, but I really don't like our name getting mixed up with this kind of site. I wrote to Google to see if it can be fixed. Any ideas why this happens? Thanks,
flood6
10-16-2003, 04:11 PM
As someone who doesn't mind looking at "black-sex-picture-free" links, I checked it out and I got a "cannot be displayed". I got the same thing when I tried just the domain, so I can only speculate as to the reasons your text would show up there.
Have you been using PPC advertising lately? If so your ad containing that text might have been displayed on a site that displays such ads ala google's AdSense and Overture's content match. That page might have been crawled while it was displaying your ad (and text).
How original is that text? Is it possible that someone selling the same products could produce the same sentence by using manufacturer's descriptions?
Have you posted a link to your site with that description to FFA sites, directories, etc.? If so, this site may be using syndicated ad's, content, links, etc. from somewhere that you submitted your link to.
These are just a few guesses that came to me. Being able to see the site this site would help, but like I said, it seems to be down.
You are obviously concerned about it, and rightfully so, keep looking into it. Try a google search for the domain name and see what you find. Go to www.dnsstuff.com to find out more about the domain.
Good luck.
MaineWeb
10-16-2003, 04:21 PM
Thanks. Will do! I really think it was taken from our site, not just because of the mfr. names, but it has Main Resource right in it. Haven't done any PPC. I think your third theory is probably it. I appreciate the fast response.
I decided to be brave as well, mostly out of my skepticism as to how something so profoundly rare could actually be free. I got a lime green page that said something about a 2020 search that threw some pops on my bar, no sex stuff. It is going somewhere now at this point.
The page had a huge url that had webproworld in it. Looks like some sort of spy something or other. I went to the root and it couldn't find any site there. I looks like whatever it is it's shifting around. It's definitely doing ads now.
What is your url?
peace...Paul
minstrel
10-16-2003, 10:04 PM
I got a lime green page that said something about a 2020 search that threw some pops on my bar, no sex stuff. It is going somewhere now at this point. The page had a huge url that had webproworld in it. Looks like some sort of spy something or other. I went to the root and it couldn't find any site there.
I got the same results - specifically, the URL was http://613fonthill.com/results.htm?co=2&wtpref=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.webproworld.com%2Fviewtopi c.php%3Ft%3D7162&pop=&eng=0&query=7162&wtpsite=613fonthill.com&rel=&srs=&clt=&wtpua=Mozilla%2F4.0+%28compatible%3B+MSIE+6.0%3B+W indows+NT+5.1%3B+Q312461%29&wtpip=209.226.118.68 which includes my IP. :-(
Pretty scary, eh? That is the longest url I believe I've ever seen. They're doin' somethin' strange. Did you get the ads? I got ones for the AZ Republic and I'm located in AZ, so they seem to be well aware of my location.
peace...Paul
paulhiles
10-18-2003, 06:09 AM
Maybe they've taken the 'fonthill' site down, because when I tried I got an instant redirect to another domain (zebraclub21.com) and no visible website. Did a trace on both domains and found them registered to the same individual at a PO Box in Florida.
Registrant Contact-
613fonthill com (botman22 at hotmail dot com)
8136765156
FAX- 8136765156
PO Box 21432
Bradenton, FL 34204
US
zebraclub21 com (botman22 at hotmail dot com)
8136765156
FAX: 8136765156
PO Box 21432
Bradenton, FL 34204
US
Seems like he/she was hi-jacking your site's content in order to get more traffic for themselves. Thankfully there's no cached pages on Google, so maybe the site was only up for a short while? Very strange!
Paul
MaineWeb
10-21-2003, 09:11 AM
My URL is www.MainResource.com I just did another search on Google for "Refurbished Executone" and their site did not come up.
I did contact the person listed in the WHOIS directory. He did respond, asking for the search engine, query and exact results. I have a hard time believing this could be going on without his knowledge, but I'll give him the benefit of the doubt. It makes you wonder how often people just get away with this sort of thing because who has the time to keep on top of it?
Thanks for all the responses.