PDA

View Full Version : Website Optimization Software Scam or Real?



Elite Skills
05-30-2005, 01:58 PM
My page is 640 bytes, I'm a geek like that, I optimized its size as much as I could, but just for kicks I wanted to see how this optimization software worked.

To my suprise the darn program says it can still almost half my file size

So I go to www.websiteoptimization.com/services/analyze/ the free speed analysis tool to test the company's site, virgos.com. It page size itself is 3k (index.php only), all is like 60k with images.

I copy the source code with view source in IE and Firefox and save as a text file and it says the thing is 10k+ in filesize. I also tried the save as and I can't get it to say the file is 3k as it did with the site speed test.



Could someone help explain how this works? Could most pages codes be riddled with superfluous characters and characters we can't edit without an evil uber program? I don't understand what they do, even if you delete all the new lines I can only shave off 2K.


Try downloading their source code and tell me if you get the same problem =/.

brian.mark
05-30-2005, 11:36 PM
They don't seem to like any of the pages I've done. Of course, they're showing all my pages and images as larger than they are. I can't get them to come up as what they're claiming either.

Then again, this script seems to think there is no way that Yahoo could make it. There are guidelines that make sense, and then there are the guidelines that they're trying to use. Needs some tweaking.

Brian.