PDA

View Full Version : Google spam



jwesterhof@hotmail.com
12-12-2003, 05:36 PM
Today, on http://www.mbravenboer.org, I found a complete copy of my website at http://www.simplyamsterdam-apartments.nl.

As the content is completely identical, I wonder if this might harm my position in Google.
I read confusing texts about this. Could Google regard this as spamming their directory? Anybody any idea?

(and.... anybody any idea why somebody would copy my website in this way??)

Thanks, Jan

diblik
12-12-2003, 11:24 PM
Its not a copy, that domain name is pointing to your website. If it isn't you I would do a whois on the domain and notify the technical contact for the DNS that this is unauthorized and to point that pointer somewhere else or you will take legal action.

flood6
12-13-2003, 12:15 AM
While not a permenant solution, you can put this script right before your "</head>"


</script>

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
<!--
if (parent.frames.length > 0) {
parent.location.href = self.document.location
}
// -->
</script>


and bust out of that frame. At least it will leave the copy site clutching air while sending visitors to your site until they fix their site.

However, the SE's may see it as a spam attempt on your part...

Like was said, run a whois and start sending emails.