PDA

View Full Version : Please help Another website hosted on my site



Web Artist
12-09-2003, 03:10 AM
Hello. I just found out that the web company/ pres that helped me build my site CieArt.com was using my server to host his own girlfreinds site. I figured this by noticing hits coming in on the log file but the page had no links to mine. After hours of searching the internet and manually looking through literally several hundred of my pages I figured it out. I am not sure what to do. I also noticed this because I was slowly taken off google over a 2month period. Will I get listed again when this is corrected. Is there an internet police or something of the sort. Im going to call my lawyer tommorow but I feel the subject is sort of obscure. I spoke to my hosting company and they said it is my responsibility but I was never aware of the situation in the first place. Please post if you know anything that will help me out this has become a major frustration. Thank you

cyanide
12-09-2003, 10:59 AM
Ahhh, man ! Bad, very bad !
How were they using your server? Did they create a sub-domain?
What kind of proof do you have that this is/was going on?
Calling your lawyer is probably your best option. If you have conclusive proof, I would probably suggest you have your lawyer draw up a letter and do the extreme, which is collect all information, site material, including originals (example: Flash, fla and swf files) and find yourself a developer that you can trust.

Unfortunately, the hosting company is right, it is your problem and nothing they can really do

As for taking off of google? I'm really quite surprised you were on Google in the first place. Your site isn't optimized for search engines.

flood6
12-09-2003, 02:16 PM
That has to be some kind of theft. He's stealing your bandwidth and disk space. Take screen shots of your directory, make copies of the site he has on your host, and change your FTP, admin control panel, and any other passwords he has to something else.

If you're feeling somewhat froggy, replace his index page with something like a big flashing "I'm <insert name here>, my professional website is at <insert URL here>, and I like to steal from my clients!" Have some obnoxious midi playing in the background.

Web Artist
12-09-2003, 06:19 PM
They used my server by placing a folder containing thier website that was named inconspicuously.

They did not create a sub-domain but what they did was, buy a domain from another company and hosted the main page then when you clicked launch site it would redirect that link to the folder hosted on my site. The url does not change in the browser window because the site opens in its own window.

The proof I have is registrant, administrative, and technical info from whois.net I have my web logs, flash files, some source code of the site, .htaccess files for the members area with his name and password created to access the directory. I called the hosting company again, the tech support looked at the file and they deleted the file and sent me a corfimation of the deletion to prove it exists and they saw what it was.

What I did was change my passwords and deleted all the files. From speaking to the hoster, the technicality is that if you are the owner of a website and want to place files that are associated with other url's it is legit. Also due to the fact that my website is new (few months old) proving damages incured from poor search engine listing is nearly impossible. I'm not even listed on my own domain at this point. What a problem. I also SEO'd the index page a little. The only good thing I got out of it so far is the knowledge I was forced to learn.

Web Artist
12-09-2003, 06:23 PM
That has to be some kind of theft. He's stealing your bandwidth and disk space. Take screen shots of your directory, make copies of the site he has on your host, and change your FTP, admin control panel, and any other passwords he has to something else.

If you're feeling somewhat froggy, replace his index page with something like a big flashing "I'm <insert name here>, my professional website is at <insert URL here>, and I like to steal from my clients!" Have some obnoxious midi playing in the background.

I wanted to but All the hits would regester to me and look like I was allowing it which I am definitly not