PDA

View Full Version : drop.org?



pdstein
11-16-2004, 11:14 AM
I happened across a site called drop.org today. The site claims...

"Drop.org is an active community of web enthusiasts that exchange ideas and experiences about the latest developments in web technology."

If you try to login, at:
http://www.drop.org/module.php?mod=user&op=login
it says, "Enter your drop.org username, or an ID from one of our affiliates: Blogger, Delphi Forums, Drupal, Jabber, Manila, Yahoo."

I've never heard of any site having a cross-registration with Yahoo, Blogger, or Delphi. It seems like it might be a scam to get passwords. What do you think?

ctabuk
11-16-2004, 11:27 AM
Hi, well spotted, it looks iffy, I've tried to e mail it to Yahoo but my Firewall snuffs it out, can anybody help?

bhartzer
11-16-2004, 11:28 AM
It doesn't sound right to me. They may be trying to convince people to give them their passwords and user IDs. I urge caution in these types of cases, even if they seem to be legitimate.

ctabuk
11-17-2004, 04:32 AM
Bill, could you try sending it over to Yahoo?

nexthost
11-17-2004, 07:31 AM
I enterred a dummy yahoo ID and it looks like it does actually try to authenticate you on hitting Login.
This suggest some legitimacy, however it does not tell you whether they store your account details, or cache them etc
There is also no Privacy Policy (well maybe after you login?).
Phishing scam or not, I wouldnt do it.

warning: fsockopen(): unable to connect to yahoo.com:5222 in /var/www/drop.org/modules/jabber.module on line 81.

Chatmag
11-17-2004, 08:54 AM
Drop's registration information shows its registered to a person in Belgium, with very little information.

It's hosted on a web server in Norway. Other sites on the same server are all related to drupal.org

Drupal uses the same "napster" type logo as drop.

My feeling is that while they may be a legitimate organization, I would never give any log in information to a third party site unless I had some confirmation from Yahoo! or any other site that they are affiliated with drop, or anyone else.

What I found interesting is the phrase "any of our affiliates". That leads me to suspect the site as a phish site.

ctabuk
11-17-2004, 08:58 AM
To Pete, could you try e mailing it to Yahoo?