PDA

View Full Version : Ever heard of searchbrowser.com?



OtitO
08-11-2004, 04:34 PM
Somebody at my house used my pc today and when I came back and opened yahoo for a regular search I found that the first 4 or 5 sites displayed were not of the same font properties as yahoo's and there was no cached link also. When I click on any I am redirected to a long tracking URL starting with http://searchbrowser.com/click....
It is working at google also.
I searched a little on the web and found guys who say that this was cloaking. I used firefox and these search results disappeared(not cloaking). So as you may expect,this is a piece of spyware. Really an intelligent way to manipulate what the surfers see on search engine results:-)
Have you ever heard of this company?

http://www.pokervisit.com/SNAG-0009.jpg

jbgilbert
08-11-2004, 04:49 PM
YES, not only have I heard of it, I've had to remove it.

It's a browser helper that automatically installs itself. When you do a search it builds custom results made to look like they came from the SE, but some of the results are filled with affiliate links.

Try BHODemon http://www.definitivesolutions.com/. It's a great tool for monitoring and removing unwanted browser helpers.

OtitO
08-11-2004, 05:10 PM
Thank you
By the way I found my PC full of spyware. Kids:-)
coolwebsearch
bargainbuddy
180solutions
blazefind
vx2