View Full Version : Blacklisted by Yahoo
mizambar
05-23-2004, 06:48 PM
I know that I posted this question before, but I still cannot find an answer...it is driving me nuts....
Anyway, when you go to the Yahoo search engine and type in Mizambar (a name that is completely unique to my business and URL), you cannot find my site. Yahoo lists all my link partners, but not my site. Instead it shows the default page for my web hosting service and a URL (cadd-relief.com) for a business that I have no association with.
I have tried contacting both Yahoo and my hosting company. No one can give me a straight answer on why this is happening.
I was wondering if my site was 'blacklisted' for some reason. Is there a place to find this information out?
Any advice or information would be extremely appreciated...
BTW- I have great search engine rankings on Google, so I think it has something to do specifically with Yahoo and their affiliated search engines...
bMind
05-23-2004, 08:43 PM
Hi,
It seems to me that you are not blacklisted or removed. You site just not appears on the first few pages using keyword 'Mizambar'. If you try Mizambar.com, you are still being indexed by Yahoo.
Yahoo relies much more on page content for ranking than does say google, so if you want to be indexed for the term mizambar you will have to use it in your optimized page text content.
I see very little text content of any sort on your home page.
timmathews.com
05-24-2004, 03:10 AM
<MOD delete - off topic and self promotion - please see forum guidelines>
mizambar
05-24-2004, 09:54 AM
Thanks for the comments about using the Mizambar.com search term.
Unfortunately, I have tried about 10-12 different search terms in Yahoo that apply to my site. In all of them, I have found the mysterious phantom result. They all show the default page.
For instance, the term "evil eye jewelry", I am #1 in Google. But in Yahoo, there is the same default page on result #5.
This is frustrating because it is not a matter of optimization, it is an error in the Yahoo results...
scisoft
05-24-2004, 10:04 AM
Mizery likes company.
I have quite a handfull of first slots at Google, but I am nowhere to be found in Yahoo, although SLURP is paying regular visits to my site.
I found my main page only under scisoft.cz
The only "offence" I can remember was using the Yahoo free submit page.
Please post there if you solve this strange problem.
If you want your pages ranked better at Yahoo you will have to add optimized text content to your pages and optimize your page titles and header tags for no more than one or two phrases per page, instead of the five or six that you seem to be targeting now.
mizambar
05-24-2004, 11:35 AM
argh...
Mel - I understand about the optimization. I do recognize that I am all over the place with the keywords that I am using...
The problem is that what should be my site showing up for the specific keyword "Evil Eye Jewelry" result #5 on Yahoo, is instead a default page for my hosting comany....
It is not a matter of optimization, it is a quirky result that to me doesn't make any sense...
I guess the problem I am having is that I do not see that result on Yahoo, only ten fairly relevant sites that sell evil eye jewelry.
joesnow
05-26-2004, 10:07 AM
I've had this problem alos, to pick up on your earlier point, the only thing I can think of I did was also use the free submit on Yahoo! Could be best for everyone to steer well clear of this route.
but I also used that for other sites and they haven't been dropped. Just one of mine.]
mizambar
05-26-2004, 10:31 PM
Thanks all for the comments...I really don't see a resolution right now besides badge Yahoo and pray for a result...
uspystore
08-17-2009, 02:46 AM
I can tell you I am having the same issue. I hired an SEO expert to assist me and have yet to get it resolved. It is indeed Yahoo blacklisting for some reason. In my case, it was determined that one of my link partners was blacklisted who was linked to another blacklisted link. I have removed that link and am hoping for the best. But so far, there is nothing. Very upsetting since my business is getting hurt by this issue. I have no problem with Google thankfully. And to top it off, I have a Yahoo ecommerce store that I pay for each month. So I would assume and expect better treatment. It's not like I am doing anything illegal. We shall see what will happen.
Martinscholes
08-17-2009, 02:43 PM
Maybe it is not blacklisting but some bad code at Yahoo?
Cigtina23
08-20-2009, 01:27 AM
Hi Mizambar :) Maybe your domain is not redirected on your ISP.
That is what I thought..
brando6090
07-27-2010, 01:02 AM
I also have this problem. You might try Yahoo Site Explorer to see what pages within your site the have indexed.
Also, while poking around I found a Yahoo site you can go to go have a customer service person review your site, but since I'm a new member, I can't post the link here. Message me if you want it.
-Brandon