View Full Version : Am I Under Attack by Indian Sploggers?
dburdon
06-06-2011, 08:06 AM
I started a thread three weeks ago on the risks associated with relying on Blogger as a blogging platform.
See:http://www.webproworld.com/webmaster-forum/threads/109157-Don-t-Use-Blogger-How-to-Lose-8-Years-Work-in-2-Minutes
An 8 year old blog was reported as a spam blog - or splog - and was taken down by Blogger. At the time I thought the removal was as a result of a random drive by spam report. Anyhow, after 12 days the blog was reinstated.
Now, however, I am getting paranoid as the blog was removed again this morning just 10 days after it was reinstated.
I have subsequently gone further into my analytics and suspect my blog has been reported as Spam on 11 different occasions over a period of 25 days. See analytics image of visits by Google India.
I have labelled the visits of Google India. These seem to show Google India visiting my site after visits from other Indian visitors. It also seems to show that Google India have only given my site the most cursory of reviews before pressing the nuclear button. In the case of the removal on 16th May, this lasted 9 seconds and the removal this morning after just 9 seconds.
Now a key question is this. Who are Google India? And second question is, do members of their staff have less than entirely proprietary relationships with Indian based sploggers?
I don't want a witch hunt. But I would just like my blog back on a permanent basis.
DonOmite
06-06-2011, 06:08 PM
Have you tried contacting them?
deepsand
06-06-2011, 07:10 PM
I cannot make out the details in the thumbnail; but, you appear to be speaking of http://www.google.co.in.
This is a subsidiary of Google, Inc..
It may be that there are one or more employees of Google/India that are actively engaged in misconduct.
Clint1
06-07-2011, 03:56 AM
Now a key question is this. Who are Google India? And second question is, do members of their staff have less than entirely proprietary relationships with Indian based sploggers?To elab on what Deepsand said; any www.google. domain is google, just in a different country (based in, or out of, language-based, etc.), as the domain extension implies. google.in is of course India, google.co.uk is the UK, google.ru is Russia, etc.
It may be that there are one or more employees of Google/India that are actively engaged in misconduct.
That would not surprise me one bit. They (along with China & Russia) are among, if not the, leading cyber-fraud cyber-crime countries.
C0ldf1re
06-08-2011, 03:36 AM
Perhaps that explains why our test Blogger blog is still intact. After dburdon's original problem, we started a thread at http://www.webproworld.com/webmaster-forum/threads/109363-Miserable-moaners!-Be-nasty-here... which invited the members here to make false and malicious complaints about our test blog at http://verygreatamericanhero.blogspot.com/. Perhaps any members here who are from India could please make spam complaints to Google India?
deepsand
06-08-2011, 03:48 AM
Perhaps that explains why our test Blogger blog is still intact. After dburdon's original problem, we started a thread at http://www.webproworld.com/webmaster-forum/threads/109363-Miserable-moaners!-Be-nasty-here... which invited the members here to make false and malicious complaints about our test blog at http://verygreatamericanhero.blogspot.com/. Perhaps any members here who are from India could please make spam complaints to Google India?
You might want to "bump" that thread.
dburdon
06-08-2011, 06:05 PM
I cannot make out the details in the thumbnail; but, you appear to be speaking of http://www.google.co.in.
Deepsand a larger version of the screenshot is shown at http://dontuseblogger.blogspot.com/2011/06/google-india-bans-travel-thinking-blog.html
dburdon
06-08-2011, 06:12 PM
Have you tried contacting them?
Donomite, the only way of contacting any one at Blogger or Google on this issue is via the Blogger Help Forum. The exact thread is here:http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/blogger/thread?tid=286df1e64e7e300f&hl=en
My blog originally removed on 16th May. Reinstated 26th May and then removed again. For some reason Google India have visited the blog every other day from 6th May whilst the blog was up. I suspect that this is because as least one person in India was continually reporting my blog for SPAM.
deepsand
06-08-2011, 10:46 PM
The IP Address in question is actually one of a very large block assigned to Google, Inc., and appears to be associated with the referer http://abuseiam.prom.corp.google.com
A review of 74.125.63.33 (http://www.google.com/search?q=74.125.63.33&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a) suggests that these visits may have been manual reviews conducted by Google, based on 3rd party reports, rather than the reporting party/parties.
dburdon
06-09-2011, 04:41 AM
Deepsand,
I agree with your analysis. The visits by Google India on 16th May and 6th June both led to my Blog being banned within a few seconds of inspecting the home page. It appears that no other page was reviewed and that an inspection of 9 seconds was sufficient before the SPAM ban was enforced. Here is a link to an image of the blog when it was last cached by Google: http://www.simplyclicks.com/Travel-Thinking-Google-Cache-5-6-11.jpeg
The visit that led to the first ban on 16th May was preceded immediately by another Indian visitor. You can see the image here: http://dontuseblogger.blogspot.com/2011/06/google-india-and-indian-splogger.html
deepsand
06-09-2011, 05:08 AM
Hm-mm; a mere 89 seconds between the time of the report and the manual inspection.
Any similar data on earlier events?