|
|
||||||
|
||||||
| Index Link To US Private Messages Archive FAQ RSS | ||||||
| Submit Your Site For Review Need a fresh set of eyeballs to take a look at your site? Have a specific issue or question about some aspect of your layout, design or interface? This is the forum for you. When submitting your site, be sure to discuss what aspect you are looking for input on. Just posting a link with the word 'review' isn't appropriate. |
Share Thread: & Tags
|
||||
|
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|||
|
I would very much appreciate if you could review www.millionpixelhomepage.com
The premise behind the site is to sell advertising space by the pixel. Once the page is full of various ad's the site will remain intact and online for a guaranteed 10 years. ( With never any changes) We have sold some ads to some very reputable companies already and have more to be published. Once we put it online it was indexed in Google within 4 hours and the traffic we have received is dramatic. |
|
|||
|
are you associated with http://www.milliondollarhomepage.com/? I assume so since the design and idea are pretty much identical to the later.
__________________
http://www.empyrelounge.com |
|
|||
|
Do you really want reviews, or are you just here to spam us?
You sell ten-by-ten increments, but it isn't clear if a big-spending customer could buy a block that isn't composed of ten-by-ten blocks. The Google logo seems to be 29 by 79; does that conform to the rules? It also appears to have a transparent background. Could I buy pixels in the middle of the Google logo, or along one of its irregular edges? Why are sponsors appearing off-the-grid (i.e. in the left margin)? Why did you start a new website before reaching the half-way point with the old one? Trying to get another fifteen minutes of fame? As far as design goes... well, you're no Andy Warhol. It's a pity you didn't go for something more avant-garde for the banner and margins. They're ugly (shades of gray plus school bus orange?), plus they're just a re-hash of your other site. So, you have this creative idea, but you've executed it in a manner that doesn't show any creativity at all. You're relying on your customers for that... but most of them are really boring. Your site would be a thousand times cooler if the frame around it changed as cleverly from week to week as the CSS Zen Garden. |
|
|||
|
think its a pretty impressive idea to generate revenue. why does the google image hang off the main board though?
__________________
http://www.empyrelounge.com |
|
|||
|
its obvious he has just copied the original guy trying to make a few cheap bucks.
What he's done is put expedia, google etc on there without them knowing and a couple of other companies have bought some pixels thinking the site has some meaning. When really they have been conned. Google hasnt spent all that money on marketing that it doesnt need! But it comes across as being popular when it is just a hoax!!!! The original site is far superior and actually had some meaning!
__________________
www.ecampsite.co.uk |
|
|||
|
well hmm, smells like a direct attempt to ride someones coatails...i find it quite funny that Google "paid" for their image but they couldn't provide a better quality image? i can erase better then that in photoshop....look if you want to ride someones coatials at least stand out in someway
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
And another thing: http://www.millionpixelhomepage.com/press.htm you've recieved no press while the other guy ( http://www.milliondollarhomepage.com/press.php ) has. Doing a Whois on both domain names, yours is registered Sept 12th 2005 with the name servers at niagarawebhosts.com. While milliondollarhomepage.com was registered on August 23 2005 with name servers at sitelutions.com. How did you sell ad space on Sept 11th 2005 when your site wasn't registered until Sept 12th??? http://www.millionpixelhomepage.com/clicks.htm Some of your ad space "buyers" are affiliate links. You have some pages down. You forgot to update the "sold" and "available" box on some pages. "Million Pixel Homepage ©" you cannot copyright something that wasn't your idea to begin with. Quote:
Sorry to rip on you, but site rippers hit a nerve. Nice try though. I've sent an email to the real Alex about your site. |
|
|||
|
I knew it wouldn't take long for others to get on the bandwaggon.
At least the designer of the original site (and it is very popular having made over £44,000 so far)with plenty of free press, set it up to pay his University Tuition Fees at Nottingham. If I was to advertise on the original site (and it is tempting) I would be doing so because of the press exposure and the fact that here we have a guy facing exhorbitant charges for his tuition trying to make a buck to pay his fees and get on in life. I admire that. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
||||
|
i know they are totally different cases but in the booble case google outlined how mistaken association by users could damage their brand, i think the same thing is possible here, having the official google logo on their site suggests some sort of affiliation imo and the fact that it is next to the link that it is next to makes it even worse. I doubt google will take action but i think they have grounds to send a cease and desist.
I might be wrong but just thought i would let you know my line of thinking when i made that comment. |
|
|||
|
Dear please take your ads some place else. Here novices and experts exchange their ideas. There is no place for frauds here. You don't need any review on this site. You were just marketing your site. And who would take a pixel for one dollar.
I have 100,000,00000,00000,00000,00000 Pixels in my website if you want some place then let me know for 5 dollars a pixel. |
|
|||
|
As of the 6th of October the original site has generated £150,000 in advertising revenue for the student at Nottingham's University. He's studying a business degree there.
Well done to Alex Chew who generated this amount in just the last month. Quote:
|
|
|||
|
being blunt, it looks like crap in firefox with javascript disabled.
__________________
WebSolvers - Orlando Web Site Design, Search Engine Optimization and Marketing and Email Marketing Orlando Florida Institutional Asset Management and Fund Management |
|
|||
|
its disappointing to see more ads on there the second time that I went.
__________________
http://www.empyrelounge.com |
|
|||
|
why does the Google image link resolve to this site:
www . florida . sc which happens to be one of those BS search engine spamming search engine knockoffs??? the Google image link is: www . goglr . ca really nice spamming there. so yes, jkomp, in light of this particular discovery, i can see Google issuing a C&D. :) |
|
|||
|
I think $100 a square is too much to ask for an ad.
That's why I've created www.million-cent-homepage.com It gets the hype, many visitors per day and it only cost you $1 per square :P |
![]() |
|
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
|
WebProWorld |
Advertise |
Contact Us |
About |
Forum Rules |
MVP's |
Archive |
Newsletter Archive |
Top |
WebProNews
WebProWorld is an iEntry, Inc. ® site - © 2009 All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy and Legal iEntry, Inc. 2549 Richmond Rd. Lexington KY, 40509 |