iEntry 10th Anniversary Forum Rules Search
WebProWorld
Register FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Submit Your Site For Review Need a fresh set of eyeballs to take a look at your site? Have a specific issue or question about some aspect of your layout, design or interface? This is the forum for you. When submitting your site, be sure to discuss what aspect you are looking for input on. Just posting a link with the word 'review' isn't appropriate.

Share Thread: & Tags

Share Thread:

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-25-2005, 11:16 PM
WebProWorld Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 61
TelecomHunter RepRank 0
Default Very interesting

I was checking out my stats and I see one of my referring URLs was site called http://www.mjcentral.net/SDSL.htm so I went to that page only to find out that some has copied my SDSL.htm page and put it on his site. so then I went to Yahoo and did a site:www.mjcentral.net to see what other pages they have indexed and i find that he has copied around 15 of my pages and add then extensions onto his site. My question is this... does anyone have any idea why they would be doing this other than just stealing my ideas?

Should I:
A) Contact them and tell them to get rid of the pages.
B) Leave them alone

any thoughts on this would be appreciated.

tx
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-26-2005, 02:16 AM
WebProWorld Pro
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 198
MktgPro RepRank 0
Default

Wow. This is the weirdest thing I've ever seen!! Was really curious, so typed the guy's URL without the extensions into my browser. The address mjcentral.net resolves to a website for:

Brant Hickey & Associates
1810 Mt. Nebo Road
Sewickley, Pa 15143

tel: 412.356.1001 (800.364.6488)
fax: 412.356.1011
web: www.branthickey.com


Only, based on their contact info, they think they're at branthickey.com. And, they're in Pennsylvania. Then, did a whois search and came up with some guy in Florida:

Registrant: Make this info private
Johnson, Michael
(37125759P)
Employee Account
3250 W Commercial BLvd
FORT LAUDERDALE, FL 33309
US
Phone: (954) 334-8000

Domain Name: MJCENTRAL.NET

Administrative Contact :
Johnson, Michael
(37125759P)
mjohnson@affinity.com
Employee Account
3250 W Commercial BLvd
FORT LAUDERDALE, FL 33309
US
Phone: (954) 334-8000

Technical Contact :
WinSave (VWBIFHKDFO)
contact@WINSAVE.COM
101 Continental Blvd
El Segundo, CA 90245
US
Phone: 310-524-3131
Fax: 310-388-1335

Record expires on 08-Jan-2006
Record created on 08-Jan-2004
Database last updated on 24-Dec-2004

Domain servers in listed order: Manage DNS

NS2.WINSAVE.COM 207.150.194.121
NS3.WINSAVE.COM 207.150.196.122
NS1.WINSAVE.COM 207.150.192.120

Show underlying registry data for this record



Current Registrar: NETWORK SOLUTIONS, LLC.
IP Address: 207.150.221.98 (ARIN & RIPE IP search)
IP Location: US(UNITED STATES)-CALIFORNIA-REDONDO BEACH
Record Type: Domain Name
Server Type: IIS 5
Lock Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK
Web Site Status: Active
DMOZ no listings
Y! Directory: see listings
Secure: No
E-commerce: No
Traffic Ranking: Not available
Data as of: 08-Jun-2004


So, then I went to affinity.com to see who was there, and its a hosting company in Florida:

Corporate headquarters
3250 W. Commercial Blvd.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33309
Phone:954.334.8000
Fax: 954.334.8001


I can't see why they'd copy your pages. If they're a hosting company, are they so stupid as to believe they could tack the pages onto the domain name and, because there's no way to get there unless you knew the entire URL, think nobody would notice? And for what purpose? And, they didn't even bother to change the link targets, so if you're on mjcentral.net and select a menu item, most of them resolve to your pages. On your real site.

If it were me, I'd be on the phone Monday morning to Michael Johnson, (or the President of Affinity) to ask him what in the ... world is going on. If that didn't work, you could contact their host, but winsave.com is their company. :-(

Hmmm, MJCentral...Michael Johnson. Think I'd go right to the Prez.

Good luck. If you decide to do something, let us know what happens.

Thought I'd heard about everything, but this should absolutely go down in history!
__________________
Getting It Write, Inc.
The Small Business Marketing Pro
Real Estate Marketing Assistance: Real Estate Websites - Brands - Logos
http://www.buildrealestateresults.com
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-26-2005, 11:48 AM
WebProWorld Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 61
TelecomHunter RepRank 0
Default

Thanks, I will call them on monday. Thereason i was thinking about leaving was exactly because of what you said. The links are still live to my site, and they hit the radar screen in my stats so there is some traffic. but who am i kidding ther traffic can't possibly by real. i think he must bookmarked my site. I am looking forward to getting to the bottom of this. I will keep everyone posted.
Closed Thread

  WebProWorld > Site Design > Submit Your Site For Review

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:05 AM.



Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.0