WebProWorld Part of WebProNews.com
Page One Link To Us Edit Profile Private Messages Archives FAQ RSS Feeds  
 

Go Back   WebProWorld > WebPro Exchange > Services for Sale/Hire
Subscribe to the Newsletter FREE!


Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Chatbox Mark Forums Read

Services for Sale/Hire If you are looking for specific services or have specific talents, this is where you should let us know. Note: This is not a job board... services in this context refers more to individual contracts and/or consultancy services.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2004, 12:38 PM
WebProWorld New Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Evanston
Posts: 1
retired_freelancer RepRank 0
Default Should I post my project on a freelance network?

This is a question that many people ask when they have a project they want an expert to complete. I have been freelancing for 15 years (I recently call it a quit) and have worked on freelance sites such as Elance and Guru. What I have noticed throughout my freelancing career is that these sites tend to drain the individual freelancers pocket with fees from all direction. After a 2 years, I turn to smaller, yet professional, freelance networks. I've noticed that project posting for these site have gone up because people who want their project completed are looking for the most competitive rate, while receiving quality services at the same time.
(edit: links removed)

A particular site, projectgig.com or outsource.ulocha.com, caught my attention back in July. Their project posting was up by 20% for the months of July and August. Currently, they've notified me, along with other freelancers, that they are developing some new features that will enhance the site and provide a better service to both freelancers and service buyers (people who post projects). I think they will release the update and officially go back into business by January. However, one can still post and bid on projects. The site is still running.

Customer support has been fabulous. Whenever a problem should arise, they evaluate the problem and notify you of the actual problem and the solutions to the problem. I highly recommend posting a project with these guys and I assure you that they will watch your project until it is completed and paid for. They also monitor there network regularly and eliminate potential scammers before they bid on your project. The service is great and even though I am not freelancing no more I will keep a close eye on ProjectGig.com and notify you guys of any update(s). If there is another small freelancing site that you recommend, please let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2004, 04:43 PM
Easywebdev's Avatar
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Donegal, Ireland.
Posts: 322
Easywebdev RepRank 1
Default

Do you really think that people here are that naive?
The site that you are spamming for must have had problem with their backend script as a 20% increase in postings would surely have resulted in a single project being posted.

Every other week someone comes here spamming the boards with sites they have just started and pretending to be an extremely satisfied customer. Two years ago it was template sites, this years flavour is pickawordlance.com. If you are going to start an internet venture at least try and pick something original and use this forum for what it is intended for, professionals helping each other.

Spamming forums with transparent success stories when its blatantly obvious its just a startup is only going to turn away the people who could make your site a success.

Had you come here and been honest telling people you were starting such a site and asked for opinions/help etc then you may actually have enticed a few to sign up.

Quote:
A particular site, projectgig.com or outsource.ulocha.com, caught my attention back in July.
I dont know how it managed to catch your attention in July when the domain was not even registered until the 7th of october.

Why I'm replying to this I don't know as your post count says it all, 2 posts of the same content in the freelance sections. Yet somehow I feel better. :)
__________________
"I have not failed. I have found 10,000 ways that don't work" - Thomas Edison.
"The secret to creativity is knowing how to hide your sources" - Albert Einstein.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2004, 05:22 PM
WebProWorld New Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 2
sucheng RepRank 0
Default Think Before You Talk!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Easywebdev
Do you really think that people here are that naive?
The site that you are spamming for must have had problem with their backend script as a 20% increase in postings would surely have resulted in a single project being posted.
Hi Easywebdev,

I look at both sites advertised by the person who originally post this thread. First of all, I think the site look wonderful and they are likely to succeed even if that means bootstrapping. We always find our selves degrading the little guys and give credit to the big guys. But how do most successful company started? One company in particular, RightNow Technologies (rightnow.com), started with little resources. The founder actually did cold calling to promote his product. Was it wrong? No, it's just pure boostrapping - a tool that entrepreneurs valued a lot.

I think you have to much anger and don't know necessarilly where it stems from, but if you can find the source and cure the problem, you find yourself given a much better response to the posting above. I don't know if you have any entrepreneurial or business experience, but from your posting, it is suggestive that you lack such necessary experience. The key here is not to make senseless assumptions that does not account to nothing. Yes there are some bootstrappers out there who are desperate to advertised there site wherever possible with limited resources - that's what they do and it is a great tool for entrepreneurs. You mentioned that the domain was registered in October and you are certainly right. I think you are referring to the projectgig.com domain, however I use cheap-domainregistration.com and found out that the second domain was registered around May. Probably that's why the person put the two domain in his/her post. Who knows. So, I my suggestion is that before you post, evaluate your message and conclude whether or not you are going to make yourself look disturbing.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2004, 03:53 AM
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,193
cyanide RepRank 0
Default

Unfortunately, sucheng...
Easywebdev is right on the money. This is the third or fourth person from these websites to self-promote here. And each time they get caught.

By the way, your location says Germany, but your Ip traces to Chicago, Illinois US, which coincidentally is the same location as retired_freelancer... hmmm

Easywebdev: Unfortunately, they did try a more upfront approach, but I guess it didn't work

Quote:
Two years ago it was template sites, this years flavour is pickawordlance.com.
LOL - so I've noticed
__________________
|
Web Hosting Guru
| Need Help For Your Forum?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-14-2004, 03:14 AM
WebProWorld New Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 2
sucheng RepRank 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyanide
Unfortunately, sucheng...
Easywebdev is right on the money. This is the third or fourth person from these websites to self-promote here. And each time they get caught.

By the way, your location says Germany, but your Ip traces to Chicago, Illinois US, which coincidentally is the same location as retired_freelancer... hmmm

Easywebdev: Unfortunately, they did try a more upfront approach, but I guess it didn't work

Quote:
Two years ago it was template sites, this years flavour is pickawordlance.com.
LOL - so I've noticed
It's strange that you noted that I my IP is located in Chicago. The truth is no one will ever know my ip address. The one that you trace was a fake. However, I am in Berlin. I look a little more into the post and I agree with you to a certain extent. Until then, don't ever rely on a ip address. There are so many fakes out there, including the one you log for me. My GhostSurf software is probably working then.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-15-2004, 12:55 PM
WebProWorld Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 51
Alshurf RepRank 0
Default

It`s stupid self-promotion. Register, post such a spam and then forget about these forums.

If somebody is so impressed of smbdy`s services that he spend time to post it on forums he would visit his thread at least one more time to know the reaction of the community.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-17-2004, 10:16 PM
WebProWorld New Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8
2slick RepRank 0
Default

retired_freelancer needs to review his marketing techniques. Forum advertisement is actually free but you can get around with it without spamming. I do promote on forums but with a little twist and creativity. I have a guideline which I am following.

Be creative next time retired_freelancer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > WebPro Exchange > Services for Sale/Hire
Tags: , , ,



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0