iEntry 10th Anniversary Forum Rules Search
WebProWorld
Register FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Search Engine Optimization Forum SEO is much easier with help from peers and experts! The WebProWorld SEO forum is for the discussion and exploration of various search engine optimization topics. Any non (engine) specific SEO or SEM topics should go here.

Share Thread: & Tags

Share Thread:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2006, 01:32 PM
WebProWorld New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1
GrantHughson RepRank 0
Default Ambatchdotcom Seocontest

Hi all,

I've been a member for some time without posting and appreciate the finer understanding of SEO I have gleaned in thelast 5 years of my 30 yr IT carreer based in New Zealand.

You are not the only forum I could post this question or Topic to, but as it involves SEO I thought it appropriate to seek an answer here even if it could be a normal technical issue.

"Cleaning up" a home computer over the last week I noticed that whenever it launched the first instance of Mozilla, it consistently transacts securely with 66.102.7.104.

Naturally I suspect the worst, and will continue to investigate, but the website it transacts with seems to be for an SEO Contest.

www.ambatchdotcomseocontest.us/

I searched your site but no reference - anyone any ideas what this is?

My real issue I guess is a Mozilla hijack and I would appreciate any clues to unjack the greeblie! I have cleaned registry, applied spy removal and the machine is well firewalled and virus protected on my home LAN.

I cannot see anything obvious in the Mozilla Options and that site is definately not something anyone here is interested in!

Grant Hughson
Managing Director
Time Disciple and Knowledge Discovery Solutions
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2006, 02:20 AM
WebProWorld New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 2
developinc RepRank 0
Default I might be able to help

Good Evening,

I know a little about this contest as I had considered entering it a few months ago before it officially started. The main page for the competition itself I believe is a forum and can be found via the URL below.

http://www.ambatch.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=30

The winners win money each month and it looks like the website that has "hijacked" your browser has been a rather consistent top person in their contest. (Not sure if this is due to unscrupulous activity or not, but it cannot help but make one question the entire contest itself)

Anyway, I would post your question there in the official forum for this contest. If the question of underhandedness with one of their competitors is brought up, I would think they would do all they could to help you, as in my opinion, all because one of their members, they as a whole look rather badly.

I hope that the above is of at least some help.

Have a great evening,
Jason Russell
The Russell Family
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > Search Engines > Search Engine Optimization Forum

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:43 PM.



Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.0