WebProWorld Part of WebProNews.com
Page One Link To Us Edit Profile Private Messages Archives FAQ RSS Feeds  
 

Go Back   WebProWorld > Search Engines > Search Engine Optimization Forum
Subscribe to the Newsletter FREE!


Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Chatbox Mark Forums Read

Search Engine Optimization Forum SEO is much easier with help from peers and experts! The WebProWorld SEO forum is for the discussion and exploration of various search engine optimization topics. Any non (engine) specific SEO or SEM topics should go here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2006, 06:16 AM
WebProWorld Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 60
bart0r RepRank 0
Default possible to get No1 position in 1 hour? (please read)

ok, so i received some spam from someone stating he could get our website (http://www.bridgesltd.co.uk) to the No1 spot in google and other search engines in an hour.

IVe been playing about for months and months and find it difficult to move, so im VERY curious as to how he can do this? or indeed if it IS possible, because it sounds like a con to me.

Hes sending me an email with information and requesting the key words we'd like. I dont think we would go through with it, but im interested now!

Any have any thoughts/opinions on this?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2006, 06:22 AM
ctabuk's Avatar
Moderator
WebProWorld Moderator
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lincolnshire
Posts: 4,227
ctabuk RepRank 3ctabuk RepRank 3ctabuk RepRank 3
Default

If it looks too good to be true!! Then it is - forget it!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2006, 06:24 AM
dharrison's Avatar
Moderator
WebProWorld Moderator
 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 1,394
dharrison RepRank 3dharrison RepRank 3
Default

Thats gotta be the most ridiculous guarantee I've heard from one of these "companies".

Sounds like complete BS. Don't waste your time.
__________________
Deb Harrison
DVH Design
Essex Web Design | Web Design Blog
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2006, 07:07 AM
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 405
Steven1976a RepRank 0
Default

Ask them if you can pay in two hours. You could tell him that your going to the bank to get their money and when you get back to his office you should be number 1.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2006, 07:13 AM
ctabuk's Avatar
Moderator
WebProWorld Moderator
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lincolnshire
Posts: 4,227
ctabuk RepRank 3ctabuk RepRank 3ctabuk RepRank 3
Default

LOL - I wonder what they would say?

I bet their logo is 'We are not here today and gone tomorrow - we'll be gone tonight'
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2006, 07:54 AM
WebProWorld Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 60
bart0r RepRank 0
Default

thanks to another member on here, i would also assume he means google adwords then?

I.e the blue highlighted bar at the top and the side bar on the right??
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2006, 11:09 AM
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 605
KeithO RepRank 0
Default

more than likely. google only updates their things 1 time per month.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2006, 02:24 PM
WebProWorld Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 111
wsmeyer RepRank 0
Default

For sure it's AdWords. He wants to know what keywords you want so he can look up the top bid and estimation of traffic. Pad that enough so he is sure to make a profit and he's happy and you got the reults (somewhat) thay you wanted.

His marketing is surely deceptive as what you are really hiring him to do is manage your AdWords campaign, and even that is sketchy as being #1 in AdWords will rarely yield the highest ROI.

William.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2006, 12:03 AM
WebProWorld Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sunderland, Blighty
Posts: 48
Black Cat RepRank 0
Default

One of the best bits of BS I have ever heard.

You have heard the saying;

"a fool and his money are soon parted"

Well unfortunately somebody somewhere down the line is going to pay this person.
__________________
Website Design Sunderland
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2006, 01:59 AM
Mel Mel is offline
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,919
Mel RepRank 0
Default

I have seen versions of this scam where large SEO(?) companies have very large sites withmanmy pages targeting a huge number of keywords preranked.

When the sucker (sorry - I mean client) pays his money they do a hidden redirect from their page to the clients page and presto the clients page is ranking for thus and such term.

No prizes for guessing correctly how long they leave the redirect in place.
__________________
Mel Nelson
Expert SEO
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > Search Engines > Search Engine Optimization Forum
Tags: , , , ,



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0