iEntry 10th Anniversary Forum Rules Search
WebProWorld
Register FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Search Engine Optimization Forum SEO is much easier with help from peers and experts! The WebProWorld SEO forum is for the discussion and exploration of various search engine optimization topics. Any non (engine) specific SEO or SEM topics should go here.

Share Thread: & Tags

Share Thread:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2004, 05:35 PM
WebProWorld Pro
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 131
americana RepRank 0
Default Keyword Map for the Whole Internet? What is this?

Hello everyone. Can someone please tell me if this is a legitimate site to be listed on, http://kwmap.net/weapon-detection.html.

I was sent this email:

I checked your website and I would like to link to it. My website is KwMap.net and it represents a network of keywords and concepts as they logically relate to each other, on various topics. Under each keyword I list relevant websites and resources.

I am considering listing your website under keywords such as "weapon detection","image projection" and "sales sheets". Also, whenever visitors come from your site to KwMap.net, a chart containg the top 20 relevant keywords to your website will be added, personalizing the display. You can see this feature right now, as I already have analyzed your website:

http://www.KwMap.net/...


The personalization system works by interpreting the http-referrer field so any plain html link to my website will trigger your specific keyword chart. If you consider KwMap.net to be useful, please reciprocate my link. This is my html link code, provided for your convenience...


I've received 4 or 5 of these now. My company is currently listed under a couple of keywords. It seems a little sketchy... There isn't any information on the company what-so-ever and the email signature was just a name. What do you think?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2004, 05:51 PM
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dallas, Texas USA
Posts: 1,492
bhartzer RepRank 1
Default

Sure, let them link to you. I wouldn't link back, though.
__________________
Bill Hartzer's Blog
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2004, 05:55 PM
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
WebProWorld MVP
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,229
jestep RepRank 0
Default

The good thing that I see about this site, is that by performing a search for a key phrase that your website is targeting, you also get other relavent related searches that you can also optimize for. Otherwise I dont really find it a usefull tool.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2004, 06:05 PM
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dallas, Texas USA
Posts: 1,492
bhartzer RepRank 1
Default

It can definitely be a useful tool when trying to find related keywords that you might target.

Or, if you're looking to create new content for your website, you can easily see related topics and keyword phrases that you might create content around.
__________________
Bill Hartzer's Blog
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2004, 06:56 PM
WebProWorld Pro
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 131
americana RepRank 0
Default

He did ask me to link back to him, but I think I'm going to pass on that one. I also see the usefulness in finding other keywords to target, but I think he got those keywords from my site anyway :)

I guess I'm just paranoid that EVERYTHING is a scam (or spam) now, when sometimes it is just unprofessionalism (ie - not putting a signature in email, or sites that don't list their contact information... there is nothing more aggrevating to me than the latter!) Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2004, 07:07 PM
cbp cbp is offline
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,938
cbp RepRank 1
Default

kwmap have been emailing webmasters for a while now... I think scam is probably a strong word, but they are borderline, especially as they require a links back.

All my sites did get emailed yesterday by another scam. A site had downloaded the DMOZ rdf dump to form their own directory ... the email told me that they have just added me to "their" directory and would like to keep me listed, but in order to do so, they want a link back and to help defray costs they wanted $5 .. !!!! - there are 4 million+ sites in DMOZ - if these scammer get 1% of them to pay the five bucks, they will get $200 000 !!!

CBP
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > Search Engines > Search Engine Optimization Forum

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:25 AM.



Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.0