WebProWorld Part of WebProNews.com
Page One Link To Us Edit Profile Private Messages Archives FAQ RSS Feeds  
 

Go Back   WebProWorld > Search Engines > Other Engines/Directories
Subscribe to the Newsletter FREE!


Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Chatbox Mark Forums Read

Other Engines/Directories Got a comment about directories or some other engine? This is the place. There is a subforum dedicated to directories.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-28-2006, 09:46 AM
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: California
Posts: 282
chrisJumbo RepRank 1
Default Duplicate content?

Do I have a legitimate beef or just sour grapes? One of our competitors seems like they are doing quite a duplicate content "trick", what do you think?

The duplicate content stems from DoubleU3.c*d*re*ve*nue.*com which is just a frameset that opens to DoubleU3.f*i*s*n.*com.

The <noframes> tage contains a big H1 header for the key words they are targeting. The have done this for a multititude of sub pages such as /t*x*/cd*-*ra*tes.com and are ranking high on some of the search engines.

By the way is there a better way to mask peoples website so as to not give them a link?

Let me know what you think
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-28-2006, 11:45 AM
Burf.com's Avatar
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK, Hampshire
Posts: 558
Burf.com RepRank 0
Default

Not sure what you mean, are you saying they are using a frame to include other peoples content on thier site and giving it a H1 tag to include more keywords

Who's content are they ripping off and you could use javascript (e.g uncrawl.com) to mask stuff (dont inlcude the http://)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-28-2006, 12:00 PM
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: California
Posts: 282
chrisJumbo RepRank 1
Default

They own both domains. So they aren't ripping it off just duplicating the other domains content, awarding themselves extra links, etc. And as far as masking, I was just meaning in the posts. I don't want to give their website any sort of links in these posts.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-28-2006, 08:47 PM
incrediblehelp's Avatar
Moderator
WebProWorld Moderator
 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Live in Cincy Now
Posts: 7,594
incrediblehelp RepRank 4incrediblehelp RepRank 4incrediblehelp RepRank 4incrediblehelp RepRank 4
Default

chris can you post some example rankings?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-29-2006, 02:07 AM
WebProWorld New Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: India
Posts: 9
rajput_jitendra RepRank 0
Default

I could not understand what you ask, please give some example of your question. I do the need full.

Jitendra
Wedding Invitation Addressing Envelope | Outsourcing Software Development India | Soccer Uniforms | Cheerleading Uniforms | Flag Football
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-29-2006, 12:02 PM
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: California
Posts: 282
chrisJumbo RepRank 1
Default

Go to msn.com and type 'best cd rates' (no quotes) in the search bar. At the moment they are ranked 9 & 10.

The titles for the two pages are :
Best CD interest rates in Virginia. Compare current bank CD rates

Best CD interest rates in Massachusetts. Compare current bank CD rates

If you look at the source for the pages, you will see it is just a frameset that contains a link to their other domain. They appear to be using the new domain to create more targeted key word pages with no real content of its own.

If you go to Google and type the same term the other domain is ranked #5 or so. Description is:
FISN Certificate of Deposit Daily Interest Rate Table - CD Rates

This is their original domain.

Let me know if you need more info.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-29-2006, 01:37 PM
incrediblehelp's Avatar
Moderator
WebProWorld Moderator
 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Live in Cincy Now
Posts: 7,594
incrediblehelp RepRank 4incrediblehelp RepRank 4incrediblehelp RepRank 4incrediblehelp RepRank 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisJumbo
If you look at the source for the pages, you will see it is just a frameset that contains a link to their other domain. They appear to be using the new domain to create more targeted key word pages with no real content of its own.
Right it just looks like they are spamming the search engines and it is working. I dont see where they are ripping the content off of you.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-29-2006, 05:25 PM
WebProWorld New Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 9
qirexsys RepRank 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisJumbo
They own both domains. So they aren't ripping it off just duplicating the other domains content, awarding themselves extra links, etc. And as far as masking, I was just meaning in the posts. I don't want to give their website any sort of links in these posts.
So they're duplicating they're *own* content, creating two shill sites and using their own content to further each domain... gotcha.

I'm sure I'll be corrected if I'm wrong, but to the best of my knowledge, whether they'll be penalized for this by the search engines depends on what percentage of their content and structure is identical. I have my own theories about how 'smart' the bots are about this sort of thing, but for now I'll just leave it at that. ;)

I'm not really sure how this affects you, per se, though, unless you're asking how you could avoid them potentially doing this process with content from one of your domains...?
__________________
"You want something from the store?"
"Yeah, yeah... what was that I used to eat all the time? I used to get it all the time in college... damn, what was it...? Oh yeah!"

Sillysmart
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-30-2006, 01:09 AM
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: California
Posts: 282
chrisJumbo RepRank 1
Default

To be clear to incrediblehelp, no it isn't mine they are taking, it is their own. It seems sly to me and that they're walking a thin line of "fair practices" for building links and thus increasing rankings.

As to how it affects me, well if they are able to fill the first page rankings with shell sites than that pushes mine and others' pages to 2nd page rankings.

Since we compete for the same customers it is frustrating. I have been chasing them for years and in my mind, I have built our rankings without crossing any lines. We are finally getting ours up there and now they do this.

Since it is about competition, do you guys view this as a proper method for building links and rankings? It doesn't seem right to me.

Thank you
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > Search Engines > Other Engines/Directories
Tags: ,



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0