|
|
||||||
|
||||||
| Index Link To US Private Messages Archive FAQ RSS | ||||||
| Internet Security Discussion Forum This forum is for the discussion of security related issues. If you find a new Phishing scheme, spyware, virus or malicious site - let us know about it. If any of the above found you... here's where you ask for help. |
Share Thread: & Tags
|
||||
|
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
||||
|
Hi everyone,
I'm sure this has happened to a fair few of you who have had sites for a few years, anyway a couple of weeks ago our hosting provider saw a sudden massive bandwidth output from our server and with the superb support that they offer within 45 minutes they had identified the problem and resolved the issue - our site was back up and the particular security loophole closed. The problem had been an out of date version of phpMyadmin on one of the sites on our server - a spammer had injected some code (sorry that might not be the correct term) and then left it to lie dormant for a couple of months then used our server as part of a denial of service attack against a site in the USA. Anyway, issue resolved I then found out we are now listed as a spammer (our IP is listed) the site that is listing us is SORBS (Spam and Open-Relay Blocking System) and they want us to pay to be removed from their blacklist - even though we can prove the incident was not our fault and we resolved it straight away. Question is - is there a way to get removed for free / should I worry about being listed by this site?? All help appreciated.
__________________
http://www.dvd-and-media.com/ Largest suppliers of DVD cases in the UK http://www.talkangling.co.uk/ Busiest fishing tackle and angling chat site in the UK |
|
|||
|
Can you just change your IP address?
|
|
|||
|
Ask your web host to move you to another server with a new IP address, preferably not in the same bloack as the old server.
|
|
||||
|
Are you certain that you've been listed as a "spammer," as opposed to being on their Dynamic User and Host List? See Spam and Open Relay Blocking System - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
__________________
The Penn State Ticket Man http://www.pennstateticketman.com http://www.happyvalleytickets.com http://www.hounddogtours.com |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Best option is change the complete hosting provider shift to new IP address.
__________________
http://hipaacompliancesoftware.net/ |
|
||||
|
Because it's so easy to change IP address, does anyone even take any note of what SORBS and its clones do any more? If nobody uses their lists, then who cares if you're on one of them?
They don't catch the real spammers, just the unfortunate few like yourself who get their computer briefly taken over. Spam filters now concentrate on the contents of the message itself, not its source. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
ASPs that provide enterprise scale communications services, such as USA.net, use other ASP's apps., such as BrightMail and CloudMark, which employ IP blacklists.
__________________
The Penn State Ticket Man http://www.pennstateticketman.com http://www.happyvalleytickets.com http://www.hounddogtours.com |
|
||||
|
Change your host. Don't pay blackmailers
__________________
www.chicoparty.com, www.partyconfetti.com Female and SEO are not mutually exclusive |
|
||||
|
IMO, the epithet "blackmailer" is not here fairly earned by SORBS.
__________________
The Penn State Ticket Man http://www.pennstateticketman.com http://www.happyvalleytickets.com http://www.hounddogtours.com |
|
|||
|
man install firefox and leave default options on (forgery blocked sites is on by default)
open your website in firefox and see if it opened normally or its reported as forgery if its opened normally than u are not blacklisted regardless of what SORBS say I could write here that your website is listed as spaming one and it wouldn't make any difference since its probably not
__________________
Website protection---Lot of tutorials to help u protect your website,penetration and protecting services and more... |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Since the OP has not identified the site in question, what site are you referring to?
__________________
The Penn State Ticket Man http://www.pennstateticketman.com http://www.happyvalleytickets.com http://www.hounddogtours.com |
|
|||
|
He doesn't need to identify it if someone wants to say he is blacklisted he will
What am trying to say as long as his site is normally opening for his users he shouldn't about being black listed somewhere unless its reported to google forgery...In one word no reason to be woried
__________________
Website protection---Lot of tutorials to help u protect your website,penetration and protecting services and more... |
|
||||
|
You're making no sense here.
Quote:
Quote:
![]() Of what relevance "forgery?"
__________________
The Penn State Ticket Man http://www.pennstateticketman.com http://www.happyvalleytickets.com http://www.hounddogtours.com |
|
|||
|
First one don't take things literally its only abstract fact meaning anyone can put on some website that website is blacklisted
I can make site for "collecting" reported websites and put webproworld there as blacklisted for spamming and what would happen,nothing it wont get blacklisted coz some guy posted it on some of those websites. As for 2 and 3 Report a Phishing Page forgery and phishing,spamming and other dangerous sites including DDOs starting place and ones included in attacks are reported on same place on google thats why i used forgery,and that is the only blacklist that u could take care not to get on
__________________
Website protection---Lot of tutorials to help u protect your website,penetration and protecting services and more... |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Say what you mean. Quote:
The facts are that :
__________________
The Penn State Ticket Man http://www.pennstateticketman.com http://www.happyvalleytickets.com http://www.hounddogtours.com |
|
|||
|
Irrelevant ? i don't think so since it will only display "forgery reported" instead of website regardless if its spamming site or included in ddos or whatever
I was reffering to group since i said USERS if its not listed there and site can be opened normally His users can open it also unless they are blocked directly from his server and i didn't said its full measure but that is a big one
__________________
Website protection---Lot of tutorials to help u protect your website,penetration and protecting services and more... |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Forgery is not the matter under discussion! ![]() Quote:
Quote:
![]() Access can be denied by any agent which sits between his server and the requesting agent! The bigger issue is that e-mails sent under his domain may be blocked.
__________________
The Penn State Ticket Man http://www.pennstateticketman.com http://www.happyvalleytickets.com http://www.hounddogtours.com |
|
|||
|
If u say so
![]() ![]()
__________________
Website protection---Lot of tutorials to help u protect your website,penetration and protecting services and more... |
|
||||
|
You've elsewhere been advised that civil behavior will stand you in much better stead than your current arrogant one, advice that you've clearly chosen to disregard.
Good luck with your attitude; you're going to need all that you can get.
__________________
The Penn State Ticket Man http://www.pennstateticketman.com http://www.happyvalleytickets.com http://www.hounddogtours.com |
|
|||
|
How can i do any civil behavior when u keep attacking me
am memeber on other webmaster forums also pro ones and people are normal but here for almost all posts i make ppl keep attacking me and u advice me to be civilised ?All i do here is try to help and in return am getting attacked so u and simmilar can get a wanted debate and make your post count bigger to stay famous on the forum
__________________
Website protection---Lot of tutorials to help u protect your website,penetration and protecting services and more... |
|
||||
|
You mistake factual clarification and/or rebuttal as being personal attacks.
Now, you engage in ad hominem attack by virtue as your statement re. post count. I gave you some green rep. to get you out of the red, allowing for the fact that you are new here, with a comment offering 2 important pieces of advice, which you chose to, not merely ignore, but openly reject. Any appearance of hostility here is of your own making.
__________________
The Penn State Ticket Man http://www.pennstateticketman.com http://www.happyvalleytickets.com http://www.hounddogtours.com |
![]() |
|
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Shared IP blacklisted | LizB | IT Discussion Forum | 1 | 04-24-2006 10:35 PM |
| Will our site be blacklisted? help! | klaurent | Marketing Strategies Discussion Forum | 1 | 01-31-2006 10:51 AM |
| Google Blacklisted?! | cosmicbaby10 | Google Discussion Forum | 4 | 08-26-2005 02:11 PM |
| Which hosts are blacklisted? | delstu | Google Discussion Forum | 1 | 07-01-2005 07:36 AM |
| Blacklisted by Google? | carbonize | Google Discussion Forum | 18 | 01-30-2004 10:02 AM |
|
WebProWorld |
Advertise |
Contact Us |
About |
Forum Rules |
MVP's |
Archive |
Newsletter Archive |
Top |
WebProNews
WebProWorld is an iEntry, Inc. ® site - © 2009 All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy and Legal iEntry, Inc. 2549 Richmond Rd. Lexington KY, 40509 |