WebProWorld Part of WebProNews.com
Page One Link To Us Edit Profile Private Messages Archives FAQ RSS Feeds  
 

Go Back   WebProWorld > Webmaster, IT and Security Discussion > Internet Security Discussion Forum
Subscribe to the Newsletter FREE!


Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Chatbox Mark Forums Read

Internet Security Discussion Forum This forum is for the discussion of security related issues. If you find a new Phishing scheme, spyware, virus or malicious site - let us know about it. If any of the above found you... here's where you ask for help.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2008, 04:26 AM
WebProWorld New Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Midlands
Posts: 17
p.cottam RepRank 0
Default Possible Domain Name Dispute

Hi

I recently recieved an email which i have pasted below by someone representing the ANIC (Asia Internet Network Information Center). with reference to registering another domain name with our current keywords (company name) cottamhorseshoes.com

I have written to them giving details our the fact that we are a registered UK Ltd Company and was incoropratred in 1926 and so have 80 years of trading history and have owned cottamhorseshoes.com since 1996 and so have lengthy prior use

Is this email for real or is it likely to be a scam trying to scare us into buying up every cottamhorseshoe. suffice through them etc

Suggestions and ideas welcomed

----------------------------------------------------------
Email Details Below

Dear Arthur Cottam & Co Horseshoes Ltd,


We are one of the Domain Name Dispute Resolution (DNDR) Committee members authorized by ANIC(Asia Internet Network Information Center).

Now we have something urgent need to confirm with your company.

On the July 20, 2008, we received the WhitefamilyNV company 's application that they applied to register the " cottamhorseshoes " as their Internet Brand and Asia Pacific domains. Considering these domains and internet brand would involve the intellectual property of your company’s name,patents,trademarks,and copyright, and in order to avoid confusion between them, so we inform you urgently.If you considered these domains and internet brand are important to you and there was necessary to protect them by registering them first, please let someone who is responsible for trademark or domain name contact me as soon as possible.Thank you for your cooperation.





I am waiting for your urgent reply,
Kind Regards,
Dr. Ballack Wang

Chief Law Officer,Senior Consulting Director
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2008, 05:08 AM
WebProWorld New Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Midlands
Posts: 17
p.cottam RepRank 0
Default Re: Possible Domain Name Dispute

Recieved the following reply and just done a whois on cottamhorseshoes.cn and found it has just been registered in the sender of the emails name

------------------------------------
email reply below

Thanks for your reply. Domain names and internet brand were open to be registered all over the world, the registration principle is 'first register, get at first'.The third party entirely own the right to register those domain name .You own the preferential right to register these domain names and internet brand,but it does not mean they belong to you. Now,The third party is applying the following domain names and internet brand which you have not protected yet, it would disorder your company activities now or in the future, and make business losses.



1.Domain Names

www.cottamhorseshoes.cn

www.cottamhorseshoes.com.cn

www.cottamhorseshoes.net.cn

www.cottamhorseshoes.org.cn

www.cottamhorseshoes.hk

www.cottamhorseshoes.tw

www.cottamhorseshoes.com.tw

www.cottamhorseshoes.asia

2.Internet brand

cottamhorseshoes

If these won't bring any loss or bad effect to your company, we would confirm the third party’s application and finish their registration.

BUT if you consider them were important to your company, and would like to protect these domain names and internet brand by registering them ahead, We will send an dispute application form to you and give you the preferential right to register them within dispute period. This is the only way to prevent domain name and internet brand from being registered by others.

Please make a quick decision and inform us, thanks for your support and cooperation.

Enclosed introduction to the internet brand.



Looking forward to your prompt reply,

Best Regards,

Ballack wang



Internet Brand Justice & Safety Dept.
Asia Channel Limited

Tel: +86-571-28927205 ext.808(Mon–Fri,9am to 6:30pm,GMT+

Fax: +86-571-28926277 Mail: ballack.wang@asia-channel.cn

------------------------------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2008, 05:09 AM
Easywebdev's Avatar
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Donegal, Ireland.
Posts: 322
Easywebdev RepRank 1
Default Re: Possible Domain Name Dispute

Its a scam to get you to buy your existing .com domains with the new .asia and chinese tld's.

Delete it, forget about it.
__________________
"I have not failed. I have found 10,000 ways that don't work" - Thomas Edison.
"The secret to creativity is knowing how to hide your sources" - Albert Einstein.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > Webmaster, IT and Security Discussion > Internet Security Discussion Forum


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Domain name dispute. SEO turns into legal notification. plumptree Search Engine Optimization Forum 61 07-17-2006 12:24 AM
Crazy lawyers or easy domain dispute Paul Gates Breakroom (General: Any Topic) 0 06-02-2006 12:21 PM
Google Wins Domain Name Dispute WPW_Feedbot Search Engine Optimization Forum 0 07-08-2005 02:30 PM
iTunes domain dispute heads to U.K. court WPW_Feedbot IT Discussion Forum 0 03-29-2005 11:00 AM
ICANN Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy CLBridges Internet Industry 4 01-02-2004 07:27 PM


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0