iEntry 10th Anniversary Forum Rules Search
WebProWorld
Register FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Internet Security Discussion Forum This forum is for the discussion of security related issues. If you find a new Phishing scheme, spyware, virus or malicious site - let us know about it. If any of the above found you... here's where you ask for help.

Share Thread: & Tags

Share Thread:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2005, 08:05 AM
dviney's Avatar
WebProWorld Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 63
dviney RepRank 0
Default Links from Casino & Poker Sites

I have noticed recently in my weblogs (referrer URL list) the following sort of entries:

h t tp : / / f r e e - p o k e r . y e l u c i e . c o m /
Total hits Files Pageview Bytes sent | Referrer URL
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
5 0.01% 0 0 1156 0.00% | /
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There are lots of them and when I look at the referring pages (and source) there are no links to my site (I would be depressed if there were).

What I don't get is why this is happening and what these site owners have to gain by this?

Are they after my page rank? Just trying to get webmasters to click on the links? What?

Can anyone shed any light on this?
__________________
SEO Book | Website Promotion | Second Life Search Engine - I know, it's a weird mix!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-01-2005, 12:43 AM
Weedy Lady's Avatar
WebProWorld Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: mid south USA
Posts: 395
Weedy Lady RepRank 0
Default graphics?

Do you have any graphics on your site that perhaps the gambling sites may have hotlinked to? That would show up on your referrer list.

I have a major problem with people hotlinking to my graphics, and do a lot of clicking on referrer links to find out which ones, and then deal with them appropriately. Last Christmas two companies actually stole a whole page from my site and posted it on their own site. Lots of hits from them! Took care of it with an e mail to their CEO's.
__________________
The Weedy Lady at
http://www.happydaycards.com
Free E Cards for holidays and all occasions, fun pages and great recipes.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-04-2005, 06:06 PM
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 1,527
mikmik RepRank 2mikmik RepRank 2
Default

This is becoming an epidemic. I am hearing all sorts of people getting this, me included. It might be hotlinking, it looks like it anyways, but the sites are almost always new referrals.

The sites vary, and some are blogs and all manner of different types. There is something more sinister going on, I think.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > Webmaster, IT and Security Discussion > Internet Security Discussion Forum

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:29 AM.



Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.0