WebProWorld Part of WebProNews.com
Page One Link To Us Edit Profile Private Messages Archives FAQ RSS Feeds  
 

Go Back   WebProWorld > Webmaster, IT and Security Discussion > Internet Security Discussion Forum
Subscribe to the Newsletter FREE!


Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Chatbox Mark Forums Read

Internet Security Discussion Forum This forum is for the discussion of security related issues. If you find a new Phishing scheme, spyware, virus or malicious site - let us know about it. If any of the above found you... here's where you ask for help.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-30-2004, 06:06 PM
tj's Avatar
tj tj is offline
WebProWorld Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 32
tj RepRank 0
Default URGENT: need secure host/server....please read:

The company I have been using as a host server (I purchased 10 gigs of space from them) has disappeared without a trace -- www.essene.ca

I had a website called www.danburisch.info on their server - it is very controversial in subject matter. The hosting company knew this and after some hacking attacks in in the early fall they put me on a separate secure server, and stated that they had a "vested interest" that the info stay available on the net. These were cool guys.

The Information on the web site has to do with our hearing and appeal to Canada's IRB board for protection as we were under constant surveillance in the US (living in Washington DC and are US Citizens, hah!) before we moved up here to CA seeking protection. It contained scans of our legal proceedings and many documents that supported the information that Dr. Dan Burisch is who he says he is and that his information is credible.

Anyway - I have been trying to get the news media's attention all summer... to no avail. I sent a note and a link to CBC (Canadian Broadcast Corporation) News and the next day there is no essene.ca; (this happened about 3 weeks ago now) all of my web sites are gone, not just the Burisch one, and no-one returns calls. I did pay via Pay-pal and have reported this to them.

I tried to report this to the RCMP up here but they were polite but less than helpful. Should I try an inernational hosting company? maybe France?

Now I am looking for another server to re-build all my work and post to.
I am worried about the guys at essene - that something may have happened to them. If anyone knows Eric please let me know it he is ok...

Also, if anyone know of a good hosting company that is not afraid of Big Brother please let me know. I am looking for a chunk of server space to use for a number of different clients.

(note to admin - if this is not in the right area of the forum - please move it to where you think it should be)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-30-2004, 06:37 PM
tj's Avatar
tj tj is offline
WebProWorld Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 32
tj RepRank 0
Default

I forgot to mention - I am just a designer - I don't know much about spy stuff or security issues (re the net). I really just need to find a new host company.

If anyone is interested in the Dan Burisch story check out eaglesdisobey.org for now.

I am on a G4 using OSX if that makes a difference - it should not....

I know some hosts don't invest in the time it takes to help the Mac system users...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-30-2004, 07:18 PM
minstrel's Avatar
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 3,620
minstrel RepRank 0
Default

Why would a hosting service care what OS you use to create webpages?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-30-2004, 07:42 PM
tj's Avatar
tj tj is offline
WebProWorld Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 32
tj RepRank 0
Default

obviously because I am stupid....
some hosting services really do not cater to support services for Mac OS users.

Can you help in any way other than pointing out my naivety?
Perhaps you have connections there in Ottawa? Maybe even ones in the mental health field that hesitate before labeling someone delusional? Is it really true that the RCMP cannot provide someone with a link as to whom one might report such concerns?

this is a copy or my correspondence with them - the RCMP (you have to read it backwards):
Quote:

xxxx;

Unfortunately, no, there is no general delivery e-mail address. Very sorry.

Webmaster
National Communications Services
Services nationaux de communications
RCMP-GRC
fax/téléc: 613-993-3098
1200 Vanier Parkway
Ottawa, ON K1A 0R2

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 12/23/04 05:59PM >>>
thank you for your help. I have a little problem and that is that I
have a phone phobia. Is there anyway you might be able to send me a
link to a particular person or dept when I can contact them via e-mail?

Sincerely

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


On 22-Dec-04, at 5:37 AM, Webmaster Webmaster wrote:

Good morning,

I would recommend that you contact your local RCMP detachment and ask
for their assistance and advice. For a list of detachments in
Alberta, please see

http://www.rcmp.ca/telephone/generalcont_ab_e.htm

Thank you.


Webmaster
National Communications Services
Services nationaux de communications
RCMP-GRC
fax/téléc: 613-993-3098
1200 Vanier Parkway
Ottawa, ON K1A 0R2

webmaster@rcmp-grc.gc.ca 12/21/04 06:59PM >>>
(comments)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

I have purchased a large block of server space from a company called
essene.ca. They were said to be in Calgary. One of my web sites they
had to move to a secure server due to hacker attacks, this web site
was/is www.danburisch.info. The information on the site had to do
with our personal immigration case. I am not so worried about my web
sites going down (this happened 2 weeks ago after I sent the link to
CBC News)

The company was very supportive and I am very concerned about there
welfare. There is no trace of them anywhere. It is possible that
this could be a case of scam/fraud but I do not feel this is the case.

Would it be possible to have some one look into who owns essene.ca (as
they must be canadian to have a .ca domain) and let them know that
their clients are extremely worried and not about to let this
situation drop until I am assured that they are safe.

Sincerely
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-30-2004, 08:01 PM
minstrel's Avatar
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 3,620
minstrel RepRank 0
Default

No need to be crusty. I wasn't calling you stupid or naive. I was asking a question. I thought perhaps you'd been given misinformation by someone, perhaps a previous host.

A whois on that domain still shows it as live:

Quote:
Status: EXIST
Registrar: Can Reg (Infinet Communications Group
Registrar-no: 146
Registrant-no: 484315
Domaine-no: 484316
Subdomain: essene.ca
Renewal-Date: 2005/09/07
Date-Approved: 2002/09/07
Date-Modified: 2004/10/17
Organization: Erik Brisson
Description: Geeks On Patrol
Admin-Name: Erik Brisson
Admin-Title:
Admin-Postal: 617-1313 13th Avenue
Calgary AB T3C 3S1 Canada
Admin-Phone: 403-209-8530
Admin-Fax: 403-209-8530
Admin-Mailbox: *****@shaw.ca
Tech-Name: Walker Stephanie
Tech-Title:
Tech-Postal: 617-1313 13th Ave SW
Calgary AB T3C 3S1 Canada
Tech-Phone: 403-209-8530
Tech-Fax: 403-209-8530
Tech-Mailbox: *****@essene.ca
NS1-Hostname: ns1.essene.ca
NS1-Netaddress: 69.10.142.240
NS2-Hostname: ns2.essene.ca
NS2-Netaddress: 69.10.142.241
You might try those contact numbers, or www.cira.ca, or even www.shaw.ca to see if they have any information. Or contact the Better Business Bureau in Calgary or the Chamber of Commerce.

The RCMP wouldn't be investigating companies who have gone out of business and it seems highly unlikely to me that the CBC would care enough about your hosts or your website or the topic to want it shut down, even if they had that power (and they don't).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-30-2004, 08:41 PM
tj's Avatar
tj tj is offline
WebProWorld Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 32
tj RepRank 0
Default

I'm sorry - you are correct - I was "crusty".

Thank you for all the links and info.
You have been the most helpful contact I have made.

Thanks Again - it has been rather stressful these last two years.

Sincerely, Toni

BTW, I did not imply that the CBC would shut down the site but you see they were doing stories about Americans seeking protection... -As to the potential severity of the case - several ministers in the Dept of Justice are well aware of it, as is Anne Mclellan. - Please excuse me if I get the titles and depts of the Canadian Gov. incorrect - I am learning.... slowly.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-30-2004, 08:59 PM
minstrel's Avatar
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 3,620
minstrel RepRank 0
Default

That's okay -- stress can make me crusty too. Good luck.

One other contact (probably won't help but maybe worth a shot) -- these people registered the www.essene.ca domain name:

Can Reg (Infinet Communications Group)
http://www.canreg.com
Phone : 1-877-901-2123 Email : info@canreg.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > Webmaster, IT and Security Discussion > Internet Security Discussion Forum
Tags: , , ,



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0