WebProWorld Part of WebProNews.com
Page One Link To Us Edit Profile Private Messages Archives FAQ RSS Feeds  
 

Go Back   WebProWorld > Webmaster, IT and Security Discussion > Internet Security Discussion Forum
Subscribe to the Newsletter FREE!


Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Chatbox Mark Forums Read

Internet Security Discussion Forum This forum is for the discussion of security related issues. If you find a new Phishing scheme, spyware, virus or malicious site - let us know about it. If any of the above found you... here's where you ask for help.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2004, 09:42 AM
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 245
pdstein RepRank 0
Default drop.org?

I happened across a site called drop.org today. The site claims...

"Drop.org is an active community of web enthusiasts that exchange ideas and experiences about the latest developments in web technology."

If you try to login, at:
http://www.drop.org/module.php?mod=user&op=login
it says, "Enter your drop.org username, or an ID from one of our affiliates: Blogger, Delphi Forums, Drupal, Jabber, Manila, Yahoo."

I've never heard of any site having a cross-registration with Yahoo, Blogger, or Delphi. It seems like it might be a scam to get passwords. What do you think?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2004, 09:55 AM
ctabuk's Avatar
Moderator
WebProWorld Moderator
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lincolnshire
Posts: 4,226
ctabuk RepRank 3ctabuk RepRank 3ctabuk RepRank 3
Default

I've e mailed it to Yahoo , but My firewall said 'virus alert'and blocked it

It looks iffy
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2004, 10:04 AM
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 245
pdstein RepRank 0
Default

That's a good idea. I should have thought of that. I look forward to hearing their response.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2004, 10:19 AM
ctabuk's Avatar
Moderator
WebProWorld Moderator
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lincolnshire
Posts: 4,226
ctabuk RepRank 3ctabuk RepRank 3ctabuk RepRank 3
Default

You try as well, like I said my Firewall Blocked transmission (Sygate Pro) Would be a good idea to take it out of the breakroom and put it in a main SE forum!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2004, 11:13 AM
paulhiles's Avatar
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 2,803
paulhiles RepRank 0
Default Very dodgy!

Certainly does sound like some sort of a scam. For the time being, I've moved this post into the Security Watch forum.

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2004, 11:14 AM
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 245
pdstein RepRank 0
Default

OK, I misunderstood your previous post. I've filled out the contact form at Yahoo and will see what they say about it.

I wasn't sure if this would be appropriate for the main SE forum since it doesn't really have to do with search engines, but it would get a wider audience there and I suppose the mods can alway smove it if they don't think it should be there.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > Webmaster, IT and Security Discussion > Internet Security Discussion Forum
Tags:



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0