iEntry 10th Anniversary Forum Rules Search
WebProWorld
Register FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Internet Security Discussion Forum This forum is for the discussion of security related issues. If you find a new Phishing scheme, spyware, virus or malicious site - let us know about it. If any of the above found you... here's where you ask for help.

Share Thread: & Tags

Share Thread:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-11-2004, 07:51 PM
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 1,527
mikmik RepRank 2mikmik RepRank 2
Default How to spot eBay spoof

Well, for one thing, I don't have an eBay account, LMAO, and would never open an email like that and expose myself to a script or macro exploit.

However, I check all 'unknown' email that may be legit (usually) before I delete them. I right click on the message, pick details and then message source.

This is what I saw, and I highlight the giveaways here:
Quote:
X-Apparently-To: m44l@yahoo.ca via 66.218.78.123; Mon, 11 Oct 2004 01:16:44 -0700
X-YahooFilteredBulk: 69.93.137.114
X-Originating-IP: [69.93.137.114]
Return-Path: <customersupport@ebay.com>
Received: from 69.93.137.114 (EHLO denver.hostat.net) (69.93.137.114)
by mta293.mail.scd.yahoo.com with SMTP; Mon, 11 Oct 2004 01:16:44 -0700
Received: from nobody by denver.hostat.net with local (Exim 4.34)
id 1CGvMF-0005Dw-PW
for m44l@yahoo.ca; Mon, 11 Oct 2004 03:16:39 -0500
To: m44l@yahoo.ca
Subject: Security Measures (SafeHarbor) (KMM82003618V76837L0KM)
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1
From: CustomerSupport@eBay.com
Message-Id: <E1CGvMF-0005Dw-PW@denver.hostat.net>
Date: Mon, 11 Oct 2004 03:16:39 -0500
X-AntiAbuse: This header was added to track abuse, please include it with any abuse report
X-AntiAbuse: Primary Hostname - denver.hostat.net
X-AntiAbuse: Original Domain - yahoo.ca
X-AntiAbuse: Originator/Caller UID/GID - [99 99] / [47 12]
X-AntiAbuse: Sender Address Domain - eBay.com
X-Source:
X-Source-Args:
X-Source-Dir:




Dear eBay member





We recently noticed one or more attempts to log in to your eBay account from a

foreign IP address and we have reasons to belive that your account was hijacked

by a third party without your authorization.



If you recently accessed your account while traveling,the unusual log in attempts

may have been initiated by you.

However,if you are the rightfull holder of the account, click on the link below,

fill the form and then submit as we try to verify your identity.


<a href="http://www.tranceenergy.net/aw-config/index.php?mail=m44l@yahoo.ca
&?motd=eBay?YY=39830&inc=25&order=down&sort=date&p os=0&view=a&head=b&box=Trash">
http://cgi3.ebay.com//aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?VerifyIdentity&ssPageName=</a>




The log in attempt was made from:

IP address: 205.188.119.22

ISP host: cache-ag04.proxy.aol.com





If you choose to ignore our request,you leave us no choise but to temporaly suspend

your account.



We ask that you allow at least 72 hours for the case to be investigated and we

strongly recommend not to make any changes to your account in that time.



If you received this notice and you are not the authorized account

holder, please be aware that it is in violation of eBay policy to represent

oneself as another eBay user. Such action may also be in violation of

local, national, and/or international law. eBay is committed to assist

law enforcement with any inquires related to attempts to misappropriate

personal information with the intent to commit fraud or theft.

Information will be provided at the request of law enforcement agencies to

ensure that perpetrators are prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law.



*Please do not respond to this e-mail as your reply will not be received.



Thanks for your patience as we work together to protect your account.





Regards,



Safeharbor Department

eBay Inc.
Next, I attatch the message to a real email address:

Quote:
Reporting Spoof emails is as easy as 1-2-3.
If you have any doubt whether an email is really from eBay, here's how to report it:
1. Forward the message to spoof@ebay.com.
2. Don't alter the subject line or forward the message as an attachment - doing so prevents us from investigating it further.
3. Once you have forwarded the email, you can then delete it from your email account.
There is no script in the message, so I will open it and forward to eBay.

For more info:
http://pages.ebay.com/securitycenter/index.html
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-11-2004, 07:55 PM
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 1,527
mikmik RepRank 2mikmik RepRank 2
Default

Feel free to edit the looooooong line, anyone (mods etc), I cannot find the 'edit button' myself!
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > Webmaster, IT and Security Discussion > Internet Security Discussion Forum

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:43 PM.



Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.0