iEntry 10th Anniversary Forum Rules Search
WebProWorld
Register FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Internet Industry The Internet is about more than e-Business; it's a physical and virtual industry. Its wide variety of topics include spam, government regulation and taxation, breaking news, e-business trends, legal issues, and much more.

Share Thread: & Tags

Share Thread:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-18-2009, 10:24 AM
Corobori's Avatar
WebProWorld Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Concepcion, Chile
Posts: 47
Corobori RepRank 0
Question Registrar trademark warning

I received a message from a HK registrar as shown below. I don't have any trademark rights on the domain they are writing about I just owned the .cl (for Chile) version of that domain name so I don't have much to argue about.
I am just wondering if any of you got a similar message before and did you about it or did you have any issues later on.

Quote:
Dear Sir or Madam,

We are a domain name registration center in Hong Kong, mainly dealing with domain name registration and internet intellectual property rights protection. On Jun,17, 2009 we received a formal application from a company who is applying to register several domains, using “topchile ”as the Internet keyword. After investigation,we find that you are the original user of the keyword. Such similar domain cases may involve your trademark and company name,and may cause website confusion and conflicts. For a responsible attitude, we inform you here and ask for your opinion. If you don't mind,we will finish registration for the third company.

Look forward to your reply.

Thanks

Kind Regards,
Henry


Tel: +852-31757930 ext.8010
Fax:+852-31757932
Email:william.henry@hk-nsc.org
Website:www.hknsc.hk
__________________
jean-luc
www.corobori.com
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-18-2009, 12:32 PM
rah's Avatar
rah rah is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 663
rah RepRank 4rah RepRank 4rah RepRank 4
Default Re: Registrar trademark warning

Ignore it. It's spam. We've had a similar thread before from another member.

Has anyone received this before???
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-18-2009, 02:23 PM
williamc's Avatar
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
WebProWorld MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: GoogleVille
Posts: 1,576
williamc RepRank 7williamc RepRank 7williamc RepRank 7williamc RepRank 7williamc RepRank 7williamc RepRank 7williamc RepRank 7williamc RepRank 7williamc RepRank 7
Default Re: Registrar trademark warning

Ad Rah stated, it is garbage, they just want to part you and your money. Ignore them.
__________________
William Cross
Expert Search Engine Optimization
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-30-2009, 03:52 AM
X-Cart's Avatar
WebProWorld Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 44
X-Cart RepRank 1
Default Re: Registrar trademark warning

Yes, that is spam only. No need to worry at all. We received multiple similar requests about our domain name, we just ignored them.
__________________
Makers of X-Cart shopping cart
Join us on Twitter
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > eCommerce > Internet Industry

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Domain registrar NetProwler Hosting Issues 2 04-14-2009 01:05 AM
Registrar Problem Help Please! livpj11 Domain Discussion Forum 9 06-05-2008 05:30 PM
Registrar disapeared ... What can be done ? krooga Domain Discussion Forum 7 04-25-2007 10:02 AM
Becoming my own registrar krooga Domain Discussion Forum 3 07-18-2005 04:50 PM
Google The Registrar WPW_Feedbot Search Engine Optimization Forum 0 02-09-2005 12:30 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:14 PM.



Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.0