iEntry 10th Anniversary Forum Rules Search
WebProWorld
Register FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Internet Industry The Internet is about more than e-Business; it's a physical and virtual industry. Its wide variety of topics include spam, government regulation and taxation, breaking news, e-business trends, legal issues, and much more.

Share Thread: & Tags

Share Thread:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-19-2008, 07:46 AM
WebProWorld Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 466
amxfan RepRank 2amxfan RepRank 2
Default Has anyone received this before???

I received this email today and would like to know if anyone here has received anything like it and how or did they reply?


Dear Sir/Madam.,
We received a formal application from a company who is called Meiao Co.,Ltd (www.meiaoinv.cn) are applying to register " name-of-one-of-my-domains " as their domain name and Internet keyword in China and also in Asia on Nov 18, 2008. During our auditing procedure we find out that the alleged Meiao Co.,Ltd has no trade mark, brand nor patent even similar to that word. As authorized anti-cybersquatting organization we hereby suspect the alleged Meiao Co.,Ltd to be a domain grabber. Hence we need you confirmation for two things, First of all, whether this alleged Meiao Co.,Ltd is your business partner or distributor in China.
Secondly, whether you are interested in registering these domains. (The alleged Meiao Co.,Ltd will be entitled to obtain a domain not needed by original trademark owner.)
If you are not in charge of this please transfer this email to appropriate dept.
This is a letter for confirmation. If the mentioned third party is your business partner or distributor in china please DO NOT reply. We will automatically confirm application from your business partner after this audit procedure.
Bst Rgs
Luke.Jiang
Registration Commissioner
WWW DOMAINBOX GROUP CO.LTD
Tel: +86-10-80747734
Fax: +86-10-80747824
Email:luke@boxs.asia
Http://www.boxs.asia
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-19-2008, 09:07 AM
rah's Avatar
rah rah is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 519
rah has disabled reputation
Default Re: Has anyone received this before???

Yes, I get them all the time here at work. It's spam sent out to try and get you to buy the domain name through them to "prevent" the other person from taking it. Best advice I can tell you is to ignore it, unless you are truly worried about your domain name with .asia. In that case I would talk with your current domain registration company about it, not the ones from the email.

Hope this helps
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-19-2008, 09:10 AM
Dubbya's Avatar
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
WebProWorld MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 1,898
Dubbya RepRank 4Dubbya RepRank 4Dubbya RepRank 4Dubbya RepRank 4Dubbya RepRank 4
Default Re: Has anyone received this before???

It's a scam. Nothing more than a feeble attempt to goad you into registering a .cn domain name so they can make a few bucks.

Nothing at all to worry about. They'll try a few times before they forget about you. The last time they emailed me, I actually replied and told them to go right ahead and register whatever they want. Problem solved.

Do a Google search using the company name "WWW DOMAINBOX GROUP CO.LTD" and see for yourself:

WWW DOMAINBOX GROUP CO.LTD - Google Search
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-19-2008, 09:27 AM
WebProWorld Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 466
amxfan RepRank 2amxfan RepRank 2
Default Re: Has anyone received this before???

Thank you both on the quick reply.
this is the first one I have received and was not sure what it was all about.


Quote:
Do a Google search using the company name "WWW DOMAINBOX GROUP CO.LTD" and see for yourself
Dubbya I will take your word for it as you have not steered me wrong yet.

Last edited by amxfan; 11-19-2008 at 09:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-19-2008, 05:10 PM
dharrison's Avatar
Moderator
WebProWorld Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 2,005
dharrison RepRank 3dharrison RepRank 3
Default Re: Has anyone received this before???

Hi amxfan

I shall also chip in here and say that all this will leave you with is a lot of worthless Asian domain names (unless you want to trade there of course) and very out of pocket.

Put it this way if some main corporation was so uptight about using a particular domain name, surely you'd hear from their lawyer and not the said domain name company?
__________________
Deb Harrison
DVH Design
Essex Web Design | Web Design Blog
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2009, 03:54 PM
WebProWorld New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
owt200x RepRank 0
Default Re: Has anyone received this before???

I get those and others saying i won the UK lottery or Egypt lottery. I get more than 300 spam emails a day.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2009, 05:05 AM
WebProWorld Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 31
Superaff RepRank 0
Default Re: Has anyone received this before???

Quote:
Originally Posted by rah View Post
Yes, I get them all the time here at work. It's spam sent out to try and get you to buy the domain name through them to "prevent" the other person from taking it. Best advice I can tell you is to ignore it, unless you are truly worried about your domain name with .asia. In that case I would talk with your current domain registration company about it, not the ones from the email.

Hope this helps
Ditto! There are lots of spammers and scammers online and the worst step you can undertake is to reply to them. Replying to their emails simply indicate that your email is active (being checked regularly by someone whose actively online). This makes them all the more persistent if you replied. Just ignore it, or hit the 'Report as Spam.' button on your email if you have one. These guys are actually scamming you into buying a domain name with them.
__________________
Click on this link NOW to start making money online: http://www.mynetmarketingland.com/FREE-Report/
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-09-2009, 09:34 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 96
Jasoncreja RepRank 0
Default Re: Has anyone received this before???

After reading it i laugh first.i m getting more than 200 spam mails like this.once i got mail like i have won US green card lottery.so don't think much it's a spam.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2009, 08:03 AM
WebProWorld New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
dreammakersites RepRank 0
Default Re: Has anyone received this before???

I never recieved that email.That is spammer!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 06-01-2009, 12:29 AM
Cigtina23's Avatar
WebProWorld New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24
Cigtina23 RepRank 1
Default Re: Has anyone received this before???

I haven't receive such mail.. but I do received tons of spamming
unnecessary mails. And that is really annoying. They are just
like virus that keeps on coming on my inbox.
__________________
Japanese used cars is one of the leading used car in Japan, providing quality used cars for a reasonable price.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 06-18-2009, 04:52 PM
WebProWorld New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 19
tdave RepRank 0
Default Re: Has anyone received this before???

US green card lottery is old trick and "authorized anti-cybersquatting organization"is something newer then that.

Great 'organization"
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > eCommerce > Internet Industry

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Received the work from my designer Curve Appeal Graphics & Design Discussion Forum 9 05-18-2007 03:55 PM
Has any one received this email yet ?? stevan Google Discussion Forum 2 11-06-2005 07:52 PM
www.wantaplacetosleep.com - Any help gratefully received! EarthFire Submit Your Site For Review 7 09-21-2004 05:50 AM
Received any checks lately? Retrolock Google AdWords/Google AdSense 6 02-03-2004 04:19 PM
Received Fraud Attempt sonnie Breakroom (General: Any Topic) 4 01-29-2004 10:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:55 AM.



Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.0