|
|
||||||
|
||||||
| Index Link To US Private Messages Archive FAQ RSS | ||||||
| Internet Industry The Internet is about more than e-Business; it's a physical and virtual industry. Its wide variety of topics include spam, government regulation and taxation, breaking news, e-business trends, legal issues, and much more. |
Share Thread: & Tags
|
||||
|
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|||
|
Just wanted to share this new approach.
This is the email received today. " Dear user, the management of Neophytemedia.com mailing system wants to let you know that, We warn you about some attacks on your e-mail account. Your computer may contain viruses, in order to keep your computer and e-mail account safe, please follow the instructions. For details see the Attach. In order to read the attach you have to use the following password: 36572 Cheers, The Neophytemedia.com team " So here goes my comment: Nice try, :) First of all i would like to specify that Neophytemedia.com is in no way associated with the production, distribution of such emails. We're fighting viruses, spamming or aliens that threaten our servers. :) Keep in mind that your own domain is spoofed in the sent email. So the message may come from: staff@yourdomain.com, management@yourdomain.com or any other. If this email was received by someone who has no experience in email decoding or be skeptical enough to ask a supervisor might fell for it. When we decoded the whole email we found out quite a few interesting things. The email was sent through SMTP server: 24.88.245.103 (rdu88-245-103.nc.rr.com) The attachment contains a Trojan horse. " I-Worm.Netsky.d " or an updated version of it The worm copies itself to %WinDir% under the name "winlogon.exe". It adds the following key to the system registry: [HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run \] "ICQ Net" = "%windir%\winlogon.exe" the attached file name was: "document.pif" this worm really seems to be the new Mydoom as it spreads really fast. Make sure you do not open / save / or download the attachment unless you know what you're doing. Neophyte Media (The real team) http://www.neophytemedia.com |
|
|||
|
agree (of course). at least check it for virus with a updated antivirus program.
__________________
My Portfolio (in Norwegian) |
![]() |
|
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
|
WebProWorld |
Advertise |
Contact Us |
About |
Forum Rules |
MVP's |
Archive |
Newsletter Archive |
Top |
WebProNews
WebProWorld is an iEntry, Inc. ® site - © 2009 All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy and Legal iEntry, Inc. 2549 Richmond Rd. Lexington KY, 40509 |