|
|
||||||
|
||||||
| Index Link To US Private Messages Archive FAQ RSS | ||||||
| Internet Industry The Internet is about more than e-Business; it's a physical and virtual industry. Its wide variety of topics include spam, government regulation and taxation, breaking news, e-business trends, legal issues, and much more. |
Share Thread: & Tags
|
||||
|
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|||
|
I was checking my SE placement on my site and ran across another site I am not familiar with who had copied my site content and keywords. Down to the point of making an entry link to my site from theirs. I am not affiliated with this site and have no idea who this person is.
The problem I have is that technically they are promoting my site for me. This is a good thing. The Bad part is the short descriptions on the google listings include questionable or adult content. The site linking to mine is http://www.home-decoratingideas.net My site is http://www.copperstatecollectibles.com Any opinions on what, if any, actions I should take? |
|
|||
|
both called (no answer of course)
and emailed (no reply) I also looked and the sites listed have the same thing happening to them. |
|
|||
|
You can contact the registrar. They have to keep an up to date address and contact information listed, or the site can be taken offline.
|
|
|||
|
Here is where the other site is hosted, with contact information. Contact them, and tell them the site has stolen your content, explaining everything you know. Also, add the whois information for the site, the hosting company may find the person that owns the site is different than the registrar information.
http://media3.net/aboutm3.htm
__________________
Pete Carr Editor Chatmag.com |
|
|||
|
I emailed the other sites that are listed in the ads. they are not even google ads. they are just made to look like them. It ends up that a company that all of these sites owners including myself hired for SEO is using these mini-sites as a way to increase site popularity for their clients. It would have saved a lot of hassle if they would have mentioned this to myself and the other owners.
Luckily this was not foul play. Thank you to everyone for their replies and advice. |
|
||||
|
I came across this post by an errant click. However I am suprised that these forums allow the posting of personal WhoIs information on a public forum.
Firslty, let's say they were not related to the original poster's mistake. Let's say that the registrant could be some pimply kid with criminal dreams of making money without any effort. Let's say the address is in fact his dear old aunt. I once had a crazy woman who threatened to kill me for not giving her a job (she asked by email). For months I got harrassing emails, with evrything from witches curses to foul language. I was not worried about WhoIs info as the residence was sold as part of a shopping redevelopment. But my point is that there are crazies out there. Posting WhoIs information is irresponsible and unprofessional. Problems like these should be addressed privately without disclosing personal information. Sure, someone can get the information, but at least the IP is tracked for every enquiry. I for one would be horrified to think that my own address would be published anywhere when i did not have the right of reply first.
__________________
Jeremy |
|
|||
|
I agree with Jeremy ... really unprofessional. Not only did he post data he probably shouldn't have (as that guys name is not permanantly stuck in cyberspace related to a question in a post) he also told the original poster that he didn't own his site.
Go look up Domainsbyproxy before you tell someone they don't own their site. Arthur |
|
|||
|
I'm curious what people here would define as "owning" my site? I have complete control of it and can alter it in anyway I see fit. My hosting is done through someone else but I dont have the tech knowledge(yet) to know the first thing to do with a server. I know that I will most likely need one in the future with my current plans but thats another thread entirely. :)
Basically, Do I not own my site? |
|
|||
|
I have not done a whois but the gentleman earlier who did showed you used domainsbyproxy to avoid having the world see your information. I think he misunderstood that to mean domainsbyproxy owned the site.
Did you register or buy the domain? If so, you own it. Arthur |
|
||||
|
You mentioned a company you hired to do SEO was involved in this. What did that company actually do for you?
It would bother me if someone created a web page that copied the text of my site. This seems to me to be a strange method of SEO. Their tactic of making another domain appear to be your web would be annoying at the least. My use of the word "owned" earlier may have been incorrrect. The point I was trying to make was that someone else is "involved" with your domain, and I was speculating as to whether a mistake, perhaps honest, may have been made by them. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Regards carju1 - moderator |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Regards carju1 - moderator |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
||||
|
Quote:
Maintaining a forum policy of bypassing and ignoring the WhoIs protocols is itruly regrettable.
__________________
Jeremy |
![]() |
|
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
|
WebProWorld |
Advertise |
Contact Us |
About |
Forum Rules |
MVP's |
Archive |
Newsletter Archive |
Top |
WebProNews
WebProWorld is an iEntry, Inc. ® site - © 2009 All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy and Legal iEntry, Inc. 2549 Richmond Rd. Lexington KY, 40509 |