Contact Us Forum Rules Search Archive
WebProWorld Part of WebProNews.com
Page One Link To Us Edit Profile Private Messages Archives FAQ RSS Feeds  
 

Go Back   WebProWorld > Site Design > Graphics & Design Discussion Forum
Subscribe to the Newsletter FREE!


Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Chatbox Mark Forums Read

Graphics & Design Discussion Forum Post your graphics design questions/comments/ideas in here. Ask questions, post tutorials, discuss trends and best practices. Sub-forum for website accessibility and usability.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2004, 01:41 AM
labrynth_of_fire's Avatar
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: -_-
Posts: 187
labrynth_of_fire RepRank 0
Default Whats wrong with my site??

the front page is all weird with java about a community or something, (i never put any java on my site) FTP says all my files are ther, but i cant find any java files, and none of them work if i try to go to them. Was my site taken over by some malicious program? www.zultone.com
heres how the page should look (without the css.... http://swordofthegarden.0catch.com/lock/index.html )
please help.
__________________
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
|- >(^_^)> | (t^^t) | <(^_^)< -|
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2004, 10:21 AM
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,105
matauri RepRank 0
Default

1. First off, on www.zultone.com ...
Is this the javascipt you are referring to
<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript" src="http://pub46.bravenet.com/counter/code.php?id=374226&usernum=3905441466&cpv=2"></script>
if so, then that is your counter/site stat counter on bottom of page.

Otherwise, the only thing I can see wrong is that no images show up.

2. On the http://swordofthegarden.0catch.com/lock/index.html ...
You could strike some problems with this one, espcically in particular to Mcafee virus protection users. Your top banner generates a file for tracking where people go (Adware) and will prompt Mcafee to detect it as an unwanted program. To someone who isnt conversant with these, it will look like a virus has been detected, as it brings up a window saying it cant be moved. Now many will know just to delete the file, or will know it is from adware, but, as your site is geared to a younger audience, they may not understand it when Mcafee picks it up. If you want more info on this.... http://www.doxdesk.com/parasite/NetPal.html . New virus protection DAT files are now detecting these kinds of unwanted files or programs generated from some banners such as this one.

It looks like this may be a free host site? My advice, if you have a spare $10 a month, pay for hosting.


Cindy
__________________
Web Development Community ::: Forum ::: Library

It' time for Progressive Web & IT Development!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2004, 10:25 AM
labrynth_of_fire's Avatar
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: -_-
Posts: 187
labrynth_of_fire RepRank 0
Default

no, I mean JAva, as in .jar files
This is the source code of my site when i go to it
<html>

<head>
<title>CF8720 Olicom Fast Ethernet L3 Switch (209.164.24.67)</title>
</head>

<body TEXT="#000000" LINK="#0000ff" VLINK="#800080" bgcolor="#6f72d9">

<p align="center">
<applet CODE="com.olicom.dm.clearpad.ClearPad.class" ARCHIVE="java/manager.jar"
WIDTH="750" HEIGHT="450">
<param name="address" value="209.164.24.67">
<param name="community" value="">
</applet>
</p>
</body>
</html>
And its some comunity thing where i have to login.
__________________
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
|- >(^_^)> | (t^^t) | <(^_^)< -|
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2004, 10:28 AM
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,105
matauri RepRank 0
Default

This is on the www.zultone.com site? If so, on viewing the source code, I am not seeing it.



Cindy
__________________
Web Development Community ::: Forum ::: Library

It' time for Progressive Web & IT Development!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2004, 10:35 AM
labrynth_of_fire's Avatar
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: -_-
Posts: 187
labrynth_of_fire RepRank 0
Default

thats what i see, i am thinking it could be something to do with my computer...not sure, but im looking .
__________________
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
|- >(^_^)> | (t^^t) | <(^_^)< -|
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2004, 11:05 AM
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,105
matauri RepRank 0
Default

OK...now that IS wierd!

I just went back to your site to copy the source code to show you what I see...NOW what you say comes up. How odd.

Let me have a look at this further & I will get back to you.

See..your not seeing things! ;-)


Cindy
__________________
Web Development Community ::: Forum ::: Library

It' time for Progressive Web & IT Development!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2004, 11:23 AM
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,105
matauri RepRank 0
Default

OK...out of my league here to a degree.

The problem is coming from the URL. If you go to www.zultone.com you get your site. But if you go to zultone.com you get the other site.

I know the absence of the www. can point to other sites sometimes.

Do you have a control panel with your host? Maybe its going to the management interface when you dont type in the www. Only thing I can really contribute is that the IP address int he title points to http://www.xo.com/

Maybe someone else can go further with an explanation for this.


Cindy
__________________
Web Development Community ::: Forum ::: Library

It' time for Progressive Web & IT Development!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2004, 11:29 AM
mikmik's Avatar
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 3,406
mikmik RepRank 1
Default

That is because when you go to your site on oCatch, it serrupticiously downloads an activeX control - SPYWARE!!
Then when you go to your sAite at Zultone, wierd things are happenning, because your computer is now infected.
I suggest that you guys get to Spybot S&D and download it.
I had a site with Ocatch before and I had to get off because of all the 'hidden' adware and everything.
If you go to my page here, You can go to a site called Spyware-guide . com and have your computer scanned, and I also have a link to Spybot download.
If you do decide (highly recommended) to get it, run the online update for it, and also "Immunize" your computer. That is what just alerted me to the oCatch site:
http://factor1.net/external/dnld.html
__________________
What I am is what I am, are you what you are, or what.
Eddie Brickel
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2004, 11:33 AM
labrynth_of_fire's Avatar
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: -_-
Posts: 187
labrynth_of_fire RepRank 0
Default

oh wow, thank you very much !!
__________________
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
|- >(^_^)> | (t^^t) | <(^_^)< -|
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2004, 11:49 AM
paulhiles's Avatar
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 2,803
paulhiles RepRank 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikmik
You can go to a site called Spyware-guide . com and have your computer scanned, and I also have a link to Spybot download.
If you do decide (highly recommended) to get it, run the online update for it, and also "Immunize" your computer. That is what just alerted me to the oCatch site:
http://factor1.net/external/dnld.html
Great link Mik, I've been using Ad-Aware for a while now.. but the online check came up with a few doozies I'd never even heard of before! Guess it's time to upgrade my Spyware detection software eh? ;o)

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2004, 11:59 AM
mikmik's Avatar
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 3,406
mikmik RepRank 1
Default

Thanks paul. It is nice to be able to return the favor to a guy who has provided me with some beaties (links).
But there seems to be new stuff 'poping' (lol0 up every other day, so I like the online scans for having the latest in updates.
I also use Norton anti-virus, but an occasional visit to 'Housecall' for a scan sometimes picks up things that Norton misses.
Yes, thanks to labrynth_of_fire, you are doing lots of learning and getting better every day to.
Maybe we can come up with some links to other free hosts, if you would like.
Like I said, there seemed to be some "catches" to oCatch!
__________________
What I am is what I am, are you what you are, or what.
Eddie Brickel
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > Site Design > Graphics & Design Discussion Forum
Tags: ,



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0