WebProWorld Part of WebProNews.com
Page One Link To Us Edit Profile Private Messages Archives FAQ RSS Feeds  
 

Go Back   WebProWorld > Search Engines > Google Discussion Forum
Subscribe to the Newsletter FREE!


Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Chatbox Mark Forums Read

Google Discussion Forum Google Discussion forum is for topics specifically related to Google. There is a subforum dedicated to AdSense/AdWords subjects.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2003, 03:46 PM
MaineWeb's Avatar
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas!
Posts: 166
MaineWeb RepRank 0
Default Not my site but is my text, how?

I was searching on Google for "Refurbished Executone" and found my site, which was nice. But then I kept on looking and came across a listing that was my text, but certainly not my address:

refurbished telephone equipment
... At Main Resource our goal is to have the highest quality, most competitively
priced, refurbished Executone, Isoetec, Inter-Tel, Premier, and Toshiba ...
www.613fonthill.com/black-sex-picture-free.htm -

[Moderator Note: The URL has been edited to make it unclickable thus protecting members of the audience from any inadvertant offense (and nagating any free advertising for the site in question). You all know how to cut and paste into the addressbar. - BK]

I didn't click on the link for fear of what the site is, but I really don't like our name getting mixed up with this kind of site. I wrote to Google to see if it can be fixed. Any ideas why this happens? Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2003, 04:11 PM
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,283
flood6 RepRank 0
Default guesses

As someone who doesn't mind looking at "black-sex-picture-free" links, I checked it out and I got a "cannot be displayed". I got the same thing when I tried just the domain, so I can only speculate as to the reasons your text would show up there.

Have you been using PPC advertising lately? If so your ad containing that text might have been displayed on a site that displays such ads ala google's AdSense and Overture's content match. That page might have been crawled while it was displaying your ad (and text).

How original is that text? Is it possible that someone selling the same products could produce the same sentence by using manufacturer's descriptions?

Have you posted a link to your site with that description to FFA sites, directories, etc.? If so, this site may be using syndicated ad's, content, links, etc. from somewhere that you submitted your link to.

These are just a few guesses that came to me. Being able to see the site this site would help, but like I said, it seems to be down.

You are obviously concerned about it, and rightfully so, keep looking into it. Try a google search for the domain name and see what you find. Go to www.dnsstuff.com to find out more about the domain.

Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2003, 04:21 PM
MaineWeb's Avatar
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas!
Posts: 166
MaineWeb RepRank 0
Default

Thanks. Will do! I really think it was taken from our site, not just because of the mfr. names, but it has Main Resource right in it. Haven't done any PPC. I think your third theory is probably it. I appreciate the fast response.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2003, 05:44 PM
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: az
Posts: 376
mm99 RepRank 0
Default

I decided to be brave as well, mostly out of my skepticism as to how something so profoundly rare could actually be free. I got a lime green page that said something about a 2020 search that threw some pops on my bar, no sex stuff. It is going somewhere now at this point.

The page had a huge url that had webproworld in it. Looks like some sort of spy something or other. I went to the root and it couldn't find any site there. I looks like whatever it is it's shifting around. It's definitely doing ads now.

What is your url?

peace...Paul
__________________
can be reached at casino@survivormail.com
SE resources at http://www.usnet.tk/ NEW! mag rack
I do SEO work. My sites are mostly casino, casino portals and gaming sites.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2003, 10:04 PM
minstrel's Avatar
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 3,620
minstrel RepRank 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mm99
I got a lime green page that said something about a 2020 search that threw some pops on my bar, no sex stuff. It is going somewhere now at this point. The page had a huge url that had webproworld in it. Looks like some sort of spy something or other. I went to the root and it couldn't find any site there.
I got the same results - specifically, the URL was http://613fonthill.com/results.htm?c...209.226.118.68 which includes my IP. :-(
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-17-2003, 01:32 AM
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: az
Posts: 376
mm99 RepRank 0
Default

Pretty scary, eh? That is the longest url I believe I've ever seen. They're doin' somethin' strange. Did you get the ads? I got ones for the AZ Republic and I'm located in AZ, so they seem to be well aware of my location.

peace...Paul
__________________
can be reached at casino@survivormail.com
SE resources at http://www.usnet.tk/ NEW! mag rack
I do SEO work. My sites are mostly casino, casino portals and gaming sites.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-18-2003, 06:09 AM
paulhiles's Avatar
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 2,803
paulhiles RepRank 0
Default

Maybe they've taken the 'fonthill' site down, because when I tried I got an instant redirect to another domain (zebraclub21.com) and no visible website. Did a trace on both domains and found them registered to the same individual at a PO Box in Florida.
  • Registrant Contact-

    613fonthill com (botman22 at hotmail dot com)
    8136765156
    FAX- 8136765156
    PO Box 21432
    Bradenton, FL 34204
    US
    zebraclub21 com (botman22 at hotmail dot com)
    8136765156
    FAX: 8136765156
    PO Box 21432
    Bradenton, FL 34204
    US

Seems like he/she was hi-jacking your site's content in order to get more traffic for themselves. Thankfully there's no cached pages on Google, so maybe the site was only up for a short while? Very strange!

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2003, 09:11 AM
MaineWeb's Avatar
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas!
Posts: 166
MaineWeb RepRank 0
Default

My URL is www.MainResource.com I just did another search on Google for "Refurbished Executone" and their site did not come up.

I did contact the person listed in the WHOIS directory. He did respond, asking for the search engine, query and exact results. I have a hard time believing this could be going on without his knowledge, but I'll give him the benefit of the doubt. It makes you wonder how often people just get away with this sort of thing because who has the time to keep on top of it?

Thanks for all the responses.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > Search Engines > Google Discussion Forum
Tags: , ,



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0