Contact Us Forum Rules Search Archive
WebProWorld Part of WebProNews.com
Page One Link To Us Edit Profile Private Messages Archives FAQ RSS Feeds  
 

Go Back   WebProWorld > Search Engines > Google Discussion Forum
Subscribe to the Newsletter FREE!


Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Chatbox Mark Forums Read

Google Discussion Forum Google Discussion forum is for topics specifically related to Google. There is a subforum dedicated to AdSense/AdWords subjects.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-22-2005, 04:56 PM
WebProWorld Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: US
Posts: 30
schott2 RepRank 0
Default Isn't this spamming? What is he doing?

I'm currently working for a network marketing company which markets discount health benefits. One of consistent top producers (in enrolling memberships) does so online. He is not on the first page on either Google or Yahoo for the most productive keywords in our business [dental plan(s)].

I did however stumble upon something in my quest to find his "gold mine". I typed in "dental plna" and viola! The 2nd and 3rd results in YAHOO! go to his enrollment site. What bothers me though is how he is able to do it. Our replicated sites used for enrollment won't allow a lot of editing to get these words in there. Is he using some sort of ghost site or redirection for this. Yahoo! shows a different URL than what it actually send you to.

Anyone know this technique and how he is able to accomplish this?

Thanks for your insight....

Brian
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-22-2005, 06:29 PM
ADAM Web Design's Avatar
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,345
ADAM Web Design RepRank 0
Default

For starters, you're absolutely right; it is spam on the part of William (or does he go by Bill? It seems to alternate) Simms. He's a dirty little rascal, that one!

What he's doing is using a redirect from one to the other. I believe (and I'm not sure on this, so don't hold me to it) that the redirect is written directly to the headers of the browser; this would allow browsers to see the AmeriPlan content whereas the search engine spiders, having no headers to be written to, would read and index the crappy spammy page.

I'm not sure of the exact technical details, but simply put the user sees something search engines don't.

But that's not all our boy Billy is doing. See, Billy's been a bit of a bad boy.

He's got the following domain names registered to him:

dentalbrokers.com
Affordablebenefits.com
TeamForLife.com

All of which feed (directly, or via user input) into his AmeriPlan affiliate site.

And has he ever been spamming his links! He's got them in all sorts of nasty places that he shouldn't have them in.

Someone should give him a bigtime spanking for this.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2005, 01:52 PM
adbart's Avatar
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 558
adbart RepRank 0
Default

Lol.

Aside from Adam's tips on S&M there, you should report this guy to Google and they'll check it out.
__________________
Car Modifications - Car Accessories - Performance Engine Tuning - Car Styling:
Car Styling | Car Pictures
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2005, 10:21 PM
WebProWorld Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: US
Posts: 30
schott2 RepRank 0
Default

Thanks for the info guys.

I read something in the past about software or a company that offered a service which dynamically generated pages based on the keywords a user types into a search query. The pages were generated instantaneously and optimized for those keywords input into the search box.

Obviously, it would be difficult to get in the front of the results for highly competitive keywords. So, he was smart enough to try capitalizing on the misspelled words of many different keyword combinations realizing that 10-20% of all searches are done with people who just can't spell (myself included).

Anyway, thanks again for the advice...

Brian
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2005, 02:51 AM
ADAM Web Design's Avatar
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,345
ADAM Web Design RepRank 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adbart
Lol.

Aside from Adam's tips on S&M there, you should report this guy to Google and they'll check it out.
What can I say? I'm a dominant personality. :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2005, 08:35 AM
adbart's Avatar
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 558
adbart RepRank 0
Default

lol thats just scary.
__________________
Car Modifications - Car Accessories - Performance Engine Tuning - Car Styling:
Car Styling | Car Pictures
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2005, 08:38 AM
WebProWorld Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: here and there
Posts: 57
thecat RepRank 0
Default

adbart wrote:

(you should report this guy to Google and they'll check it out.)

YOUR JOKING RIGHT?


regards
thecat
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2005, 12:10 PM
ADAM Web Design's Avatar
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,345
ADAM Web Design RepRank 0
Default

No, he's quite serious. Google isn't the best for nailing spammers though, because they usually go unreported. The ones that do get reported, while small in percentage, are large enough to force Google to really take its time to get to them all.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > Search Engines > Google Discussion Forum
Tags: , ,



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0