Contact Us Forum Rules Search Archive
WebProWorld Part of WebProNews.com
Page One Link To Us Edit Profile Private Messages Archives FAQ RSS Feeds  
 

Go Back   WebProWorld > Search Engines > Google Discussion Forum
Subscribe to the Newsletter FREE!


Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Chatbox Mark Forums Read

Google Discussion Forum Google Discussion forum is for topics specifically related to Google. There is a subforum dedicated to AdSense/AdWords subjects.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2005, 12:21 AM
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 286
tcampione RepRank 0
Default Beware of LinksManager hosted link directories

I've received a number of requests recently for link exchanges from people who have link partner directories hosted on the LinksManger site.

I noticed that all of these sites had no Google cached versions. I just checked the LinksManager robots file and all of the link folders are disallowed.

http://www.linksmanager.com/robots.txt

I think they've got an agressive marketing campaign going on. But to stoop to this level is beyond belief.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2005, 01:37 AM
WebProWorld Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 47
Affiliate Boss RepRank 0
Default

Thanks for the heads up :)
__________________
Need Advertisers for your site?
[Contextual Ads][Pop-ups][XML Feed][Banners]
www.affiliateboss.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2005, 12:24 PM
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 286
tcampione RepRank 0
Default

As a follow up, one of the people who requested an exchange now states that the directories on the LinksManger site are only used for configuring the account.

Yet, the link invitation states clearly “your link has already been posted to ***.linksmanger.com/client-company/ please reciprocate….”.

So, it may be an issue of what is stated in the canned email rather than actual deception on the part of LinksManager.

Either way, caution appears to be in order.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2005, 06:51 PM
WebProWorld Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 94
jstarkweather RepRank 0
Default

Ironic...I just posted in the "chelseasofnewyork.com" thread about LinkManager. But they are not being deceptive. Stupid maybe. Why they setup their directory structure this way is really dumb. The directories listed to disallow in the robots.txt file are the configuration directories as you stated in your followup. They allow the user to choose whether to use this on-site home or FTP to a local directory on their web-server. So the ones listed in the robots.txt file are those hosting the files themselves therefore the directories are secured from being indexed.

Jim
__________________
Jim Starkweather
Webmaster - Armorama.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2005, 08:06 AM
WebProWorld New Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
indiaseo RepRank 0
Default

hi

You are right that linksmanager is not a good to take link. You can also be banned if one directory is banned running with such a software
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2005, 10:25 AM
WebProWorld Member
 

Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 67
mj2043 RepRank 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by indiaseo
You can also be banned if one directory is banned running with such a software
I don't think anybody get banned for using linkmanager, but it is useless having links from a site with this robots.txt file. Anyway, banned it commonly misused term in SEO.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > Search Engines > Google Discussion Forum
Tags: , , , ,



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0