WebProWorld Part of WebProNews.com
Page One Link To Us Edit Profile Private Messages Archives FAQ RSS Feeds  
 

Go Back   WebProWorld > eCommerce > eCommerce Discussion Forum
Subscribe to the Newsletter FREE!


Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Chatbox Mark Forums Read

eCommerce Discussion Forum Ask questions about web hosting, merchant services and ecommerce issues. Topics include shopping carts, security, payment strategies, storefront partnerships, etc.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-18-2004, 07:05 PM
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 494
Corey Bryant RepRank 0
Default Seems like Phishing has hit Ikobo

Just got an HTML e-mail telling me that my Ikobo account would be suspended if I did not reply to them:
Quote:
Dear iKobo member,

We recently noticed one or more attempts to log in to your iKobo account from a foreign IP address and we have reasons to believe that your account was used by a third party without your authorization. If you recently accessed your account while traveling, the unusual login attempts may have been initiated by you.
The login attempt was made from:
IP address: 172.25.210.66
ISP Host: cache-66.proxy.aol.com
By now, we used many techniques to verify the accuracy of the information our users provide us when they register on the Site. However, because user verification on the Internet is difficult, iKobo cannot and does not confirm each user's purported identity. Thus, we have established an offline verification system o help you evaluate with who you are dealing with. The system is called iKobo Safe and it's the most secure iKobo wallet so far.

If you are the rightful holder of the account, click on the link below, fill the form and then submit as we will verify your identity.

http://www.ikobo.com/aw-cgi/ikoboISA...gistrationShow

To make iKobo.com the most secure every user will be registered to iKobo Safe.
If you choose to ignore our request, you leave us no choice but to temporally suspend your account.



* Please do not respond to this e-mail as your reply will not be received.

Regards,
iKoboSafe Department
iKobo Inc.
Looking at the source code, I saw that it actually went to:
http://www.ikobo-verify.com/ikoboverify.htm

Also looked at the whois: http://www.whois.sc/ikobo-verify.com - interested website for the DNS: http://www.vhostnix6.com/

Just be on the look out just in case!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2004, 11:16 AM
globalhostinggroup's Avatar
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: toronto canada
Posts: 775
globalhostinggroup RepRank 0
Default e-mail bad

e-mails are not secure or safe and most reputable companies will not send anything through e-mail requesting any fallow links or info. If you are ever in doubt you can call if number is evadible or e-mail a company directly to ask if a e-mail is valid or authorized. You will at the worse get a yes and at beast confirm you worries and get a no and help the company become aware of the scam or the reach of a current scam.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > eCommerce > eCommerce Discussion Forum
Tags: , , ,



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0